Day 2

in #art6 years ago (edited)

On my second day of painting I felt a calm. Whatever stresses I was running from lifted off my shoulders a bit and my ideas were becoming more vivid. I visualize creativity as a room divided. There is a wall in the middle, and it's thickness is constantly changing. On one side there's you, and on the other side there's inspiration and ideas. You can press your ear up to the wall and listen for hints, but sometimes the wall is so thick you can't quite make out the words. On good days the wall is so thin you can see through it like a membrane.

day 2 (2).jpg

I have never been able to paint or draw oceans to much success. This time it was effortless. Lately I find that if I imagine something as layers and planes it becomes much easier to replicate. I thought of the waves as blankets, but then they began to thicken and harden, becoming brittle like a decaying wall.

day 2.jpg

I would love to know your interpretation of this painting. I'm always a fan of feedback :)

Sort:  

Wonderful painting. Apprehension and courage confronting the unknown.

I think one has to get small or be small, out of the way, to make anything new. Otherwise, one is repeating earlier work or other people's work for better or worse. It is hard to get small. Ego and the culture want you to be big.
My personal writing mantra is: Every poem is a battle against style. Comes to the same thing. To write a poem which is honest, true to itself, requires you to get small. I'm now learning to draw, and I find the process is the same. I'm ten books and a long way down the road, but it is just as hard to get small as it ever was.

wowow i love how to envision inspiration and you as separate rooms with a wall that you can listen to... very vivid~

lovely picture, too... the foggy black sun and the red bull is such a beautiful symbols to work with~


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64344.88
ETH 2629.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83