Bastion, 9x12 watercolor

in #art6 years ago

The more I paint the more abstract my art becomes. It is becoming harder and harder for me to link my work to reality.
bastion (2).jpg
A year ago I wouldn't have called myself an abstract artist, but nowadays I can't seem to render anything from life. I can only hope that this journey is building up to something, some crescendo that will make everything right. It's all becoming so twisted and distorted.
bastion.jpg
I still can't articulate what it all means. Your guess is as good as mine, but i'd like to hear it.

Thank's for stopping by.

Steem On!
william syrus for posting.jpg

Sort:  

is that a red bull's shadow ? cast against the wall of the bastion ?

love your work, @william-syrus <3 i always look forward to your new posts <3

Hello, wonderful post! I have included you in my weekly curation you can see here: Ocean of Art!

"Reality" in present day media dominated America IS distorted. By painting what you feel/see, you give others a chance to see what you do. It takes courage and integrity to tell the truth (as you see it) in any media. I spent several years trying to write a novel about evil and couldn't do it. My bad guy just kept turning funny & forgivable. The book turned out O.K. ("Wild, Hard, Sweet"), but it was a personal failure. I couldn't face evil deeply enough to portray and come to understand it.
When a society is sick, it hemorrhages artists, most of whom don't have any idea why they make what they make. They do it out of faith and an inner necessity. Individually they may have a hard time; collectively, they find ways forward.

still kind of looks like a wall with windows in it

interesting abstract paint, it looks as if the flames of hell are taking the bastion, or i feel like it xd
interesting and good use of the technique

Wonderful and I fond you thanks to @juliakponsford who is so good at connecting all of us together.

I love this work. I really love art with 'story' I call it and I often find abstractions frought with it, I mean the viewer is going to see what they want even in representative work, so abstractions evoke a similiar response in me.

I am primarily a painter now, digital and oil, but was and still do printmaking. And the process in the layers of printmaking for me was always abstractions built from found objects creating layered worlds, I then however can never resist the urge to people them with well people or animals or both. But I love your pure abstraction. It is so enticing and almost calming.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66408.70
ETH 3225.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17