Clay Art Therapy

in #art6 years ago

C256AA621AB8487FA5DDCA05AA953A2E.jpeg

Hey Friends! I have started Pottery classes again and thought I’d share my first week back with you! Whenever I start a hobby it quickly turns into a business opportunity for me...I start to think ‘I could sell this....’ and imagine all kinds of ways I could start another business.

I did Pottery for a few years, a few years ago. It quickly turned from ‘me time’ into ‘business idea’ time. I really enjoyed it and love getting my hands into clay, but had to stop for a few years due to other hobbies and personal life.

Now I have started classes again and am determined to focus on ‘me time’ and use these classes as my form of art therapy. A time to connect with other adults, no kids, and to create something for me! Zone out. Create. No pressure. No time limits. No stress. Just relax.

So I have embarked on a garden sculpture!! Something I’ve never done before and will take patience! I am making a turtle that will be hollowed out and used in the garden as a plant-holder :-)

Here is the first stage and I’m excited to connect with clay and art again on a personal level :-)

I’ll keep you updated!!

Peace out ✌️
Jessi

Sort:  

Sounds like fun! There's nothing like pounding clay to get out your frustrations... lmao! :D

Hehe yep heaps of fun and good therapy!!

🤣 thanks o07 😆

What can I say I’m the class clown! 🤡

I look forward to seeing him progress.
How do you manage firing?
Do you know someone with a kiln?

Thanks Matt! The class I go to has a kiln :-) a local community pottery studio! Actually it’s an over 60’s club... 😳 feeling my age! 🤘

He is just the cutest! Or is it a she? I hope you'll show is the finished piece.

I have done pottery since school. I loved it. The teacher used to make crockery for sale and it was beautiful. I used to aspire to do work like her, unfortunately I couldn't carry one once the exam years started. Pottery wasn't an exam we could take. :(

I’m undecided about the sex of the turtle!! But I think it’s a boy! Oh how fun....you should give it another go! Find a community studio or someone with a kiln 😊 it can be so relaxing. What did you like making?

Everything! I particularly liked using the wheel. I think I was even starting to get the hang of it before I had to stop.
I don't really have the time for anything like that now. I wish I had more time for the garden and if I did I think I'd put that first now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94