Art Mix-up Contest Submission

in #art7 years ago

-poem.jpg
For my submission I decided to mix my two most frequent mediums of choice, photography and painting. I knew I wanted to have a fairly simple background so I decided to shoot some portraits with back lighting from a window so I could blow out the background and have lots of bright white. To emphasize the texture of the paint I wanted the photo to be very high-key and lacking in distracting elements so I kept the colors very light and on the neutral side.
The paint is oil that were thick and textured.For my first attempt I painted a bird but I didn't like it so I ended up using Photoshop to cut out a bird shape from a block of textured paint.
_MG_6866.JPG
the reject bird

After looking at the piece I felt like it was symbolic of freedom, so I decided to write a short little poem and put it in the background. I used a elf-style font because it added to the whimsical nature of the image. You can't exactly read it but the poem is this:

Of her pets
She loved Freedom the best
Glittering golden breath
whispers of life without death

No longer caught in the catchers nets
no more time for rest
it was time to soar
to reach out for something more

Before Images

_MG_6714.JPG
971638_10152910030970175_586802626_n.jpg

Thanks for stopping by!
vanessa3.jpg

Sort:  

upvoted&followed :)

GORGEOUS. I love this image you have created, and the layers and creativity you applied along the way. I especially love that you “messed up” and then turned the mistake into a beautiful solution! Thank you so much for entering this. :)

Thank you, I'm glad you like it.

The result is so ethereal, love it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60309.00
ETH 2342.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55