Sort:  

Thank you. I am really trying to expand my horizons. Being a freelance artist I had done mostly 3d art buildings and environmental stuff. I have needed to diversify to be eligible for more work and commissions. It is gratifying to hear that my work is effective in someone's eyes. It is a confidence builder. I have sort of a love \ hate relationship with my work. There are some days that I think they should take away my artistic license... smirk and others where I feel like I am actually an artist.

Ah yes, but I'm sure that is the case for all artists. I merely dabble with paints and ink, and I'm sure I'm only a quarter as talented as you. The important thing is just to create ....and take pleasure in the creating.

I just got off of my first real concept art gig. I was producing for like 20 hours a day for months. It became a grind. There was no art director. The actual full director of the proposed show was giving me the direction and spent more time keeping me in a creative mindset then giving me much in the way of art direction. I had a pretty free hand at what I came up with. It did however leave me drained. I didn't want to even look at 3ds Max much less work in it. So looking at other Steemians such at @voronoi, @edgarsart, @reddust and others got me inspired to pull out my tablet and try more traditional expression. It has been a long time. A really long time. My first couple of attempts were flops. But again I looked at what I thought was great from other artists and tried to incorporate that. Sort of like the concept that great artists steal everything. So things like relearning composition and a new look at color helped a lot. I love Steemit.

Good on you for trying something new and moving out of your comfort zone. Steemit is a great place for pushing new boundaries. I look forward to seeing more of your art....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69500.15
ETH 3394.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75