studio update *22* • GNAR.GALLERY show at Lemmings Tavern in Chicago ILsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago (edited)

The gnar.gallery show at Lemmings on Damen Ave in Chicago finally got installed. It took a while because the guy in charge of installing the work got into a motorcycle accident and broke a bunch of ribs. I was happy to see the show was up last night.

IMG_7595.JPG

Its a dark setting which is different for showing paintings. Usually bars just show weird emo illustrations. These paintings really put a good vibe in the bar. The bartender thanked me for allowing my work to be shown there.

IMG_7594.JPG

I'll have to stop by in a few weeks to make sure they are all hanging straight on the wall. People will bump them since they are so close to the booths. They look like trash when they are just thrown up on the wall crooked.

IMG_7593.JPG

I liked how he hung UJAK205 next to the neon signs. It was a good call. I also liked how he hung the big vertical one on the big wall. I would have done that myself had I been given the permission to install the work like I had asked.

IMG_7590.JPG

I skateboarded to Lemmings last night which ended up being really fun. I really needed to get out of the house last night and the exercise skateboarding gave me felt great. When I got there, I realized that I forgot the business cards and the tape that I was going to use to mount them on the walls next to the paintings. I skated back home, grabbed the cards and skated back using the 606 trail. Luckliy I have a cruiser board with big wheels that was able to handle the slush and snow that was on the trail. I ended up doing some tricks because my body temp was so high, it was quite comfortable. I did a nice backside kickflip and a frontside kickflip. I even got into a couple nollie back noseblunt stalls on a curb.

IMG_7591.JPG

I hope someone will be interested in purchasing one of these pieces but only time can tell. If they do, Jarett's number is the one on the gnar.gallery cards so I hope he will be receiving a phone call. I don't expect much because bars are not usually where people buy art. But maybe in the coming months, as I have 2 other bar shows lined up, someone will notice there is something particularly interesting about this art.



Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63204.10
ETH 2560.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79