Whispers of the Unnamed

in #art6 years ago (edited)

My fascination for churches stimulates my imagination of archaic and gothic tales from the past. Visiting old churches makes me feel that I am taken back thru time surrounded with ancient stone , wood and statues of Saints. I am not a Catholic by religion but I have respect for the belief and the art form within the religion. This time these art are not in a church but displayed in a museum but it still gives me the same feeling fascination which I love. One of the pieces that I adore where the saints are placed is the side altar and this piece is called.........................


Retalbo

1.JPG

This side altar dates back from the 18th century. Retrieved from the Church of San Nicolas de Tolentino which is located in Bohol. The design and carvings on the side altar is a work of art but the name of the artist was never known. The church this day still stands and is protected by the local government in Bohol and considered as a national treasure of the country.

2.JPG

Also recovered are wooden status of saints and seems to be praying in front of the Retalbo. The artist of these statues also remain unnamed and only silent whispers from these statues would know.

3.JPG

4.JPG

A wooden carving of Santiago Matamoro who is also known as Saint James the Moorslayer is also on display. Lengend says he mysteriously came and led the dismayed Christian troops to defeat the Moors. This was in the famous Battle of Clavijo where the legend was born. Again the artist of this statue remains unnamed.

5.JPG

Other fascinating religious pieces of art including Pieta, Crucifix and angels is included in this area. The name of the artist that will never be credited but their works will remain here to be forever appreciated.

6.JPG

7.JPG

We pass by thru time and what we do today may echo for eternity. These are remnants from past lives that holds historical secrets and stories from the past. Who's stories remain unknown but I am glad that these were recovered to be treasured by the next generation.

8.JPG

9.JPG

Taking a walk in this place gives me joy and sharing part of our heritage is something which drives me more. Showcasing remnants which remains a mystery but stimulates our imagination as it takes us back thru time

Thank you once again for joining me in this short trip. Hope you join me again.

Cheers Steemians!

10.JPG


Please vote @steemgigs as witness and help support @surpassinggoogle

Also thanks to @bayanihan where the impossible becomes possible thru unity.

Taken with Lumix GX85 and 12-32 mm

Snake new.jpg

Sort:  

i also like gothic architecture :D, your first picture is well doen, saturation is nice, great framing :D
The last pic. of the monoment, is stunning, massive :D

Thanks again for your feedback my friend. Gothic architecture always makes my imagination run wild.

The side altar is beautiful as well as the church! I love to see what churches look like all over the world!

This altar is considered as a national treasure. You love churches I have been out shooting yesterday and you would love my content for tomorrow.

Beautiful clicks takenof these churches.. It's really a treasure for the country..

Thank you it is indeed a treasure 😊

Such fascinating works of art. You have captured them well, my friend!

Hello Melinda l missed you my friend . I have been sick for days now not able to do much shoot lately for new material.

Oh no! I hope you get feeling better very soon. I have been busy with the Shadow contests...I can't believe how much time they take to keep it all organized! I'm hoping I get more efficient as the weeks go by, especially if the number of entries continue to grow!
Take care of yourself and get well, my friend!

After four days I am better now and was able to do some shoots yesterday. You have been busy and your shadow contest looks amazing. I'm so eager to join but I am still looking for something that would inspire my imagination for the shadows that I will present. I tried with the hand shadow but I was too weak and was not satisfied with the outcome. Maybe I am trying too hard.

Find a good tree 🌴 shadow for this week! Glad you are better. So many people here are getting the flu.

your photographs looks lively... kudos

I appreciate your comment. Everytime I am in a place where I love what I see there is no stopping me from taking shots.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61420.98
ETH 3276.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47