You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Painting a Mountain Landscape - My Painting Process - Photos and Final Art Work

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Wow, refreshing to discover that you do edgy blocky brushstrokes from the early stages!

Most painters I've seen go from a very blurry looking painting to more and more defined/crispy/sharp looking ones.

Is that a consious decision?

And do you use a thinner/oil at any stage?

I find that brushwork is the most significant aspect of any painter's 'handwriting' so to say, and I like your sharp bold brushstrokes. I feel difficulty making them not blurry.

Any tips for that?

Sort:  

Thanks @walperion and please forgive the lateness of my reply. When I block in a painting I am not interested in detail, I just want to get in the basic forms and colours and set the overall tonality of the painting.

After the blocking-in process is complete I build up the layers and refine the detail. Whilst I like detailed paintings I try not to go overboard as I feel that too much detail often kills the vibrancy and life of the painting. Often the suggestion of detail is more than enough as the human brain fills in the rest of the details.

I have been using liquin to thin the paint and it also speeds up the drying. Quality of brushes will help with the blurriness issue. I'd recommend adding Rosemary and Co, Ivory Dagger brushes to your collection, you can achieve some beautiful brush strokes with them.

Thank you really much, very helpful!
I think HQ brushes is the maiasset to making blocky strokes.
Definately will find those!

Staying tuned for your awesome work!
Cheerz! =]

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70572.77
ETH 3817.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.53