The day the fog descended, creating a whole new World!

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemians! Hope your all doing well? We have been trying to keep warm in this arctic freeze we are experiencing! Yesterday our area descended into a dense covering of fog - so I went out with my cameras! I hope you enjoy my post! - Verity x

All my regular followers will know just how must I love photographing in the fog, and yesterday was probably the most fog we have ever experienced here. It was crazy, you could barely see 5 foot in front of you and I was so excited to go out and get some photographs in it, so I dragged @skiesandsports and our dog out with me - which I don't think he was too happy with ! - and put 10 layers of clothes on and went out for an adventure!

IMG_9575.jpg

Luckily we knew where we were going otherwise it would have been tricky to even see where the path was leading. Normally on this walk you can see across all the farmers fields but today it was all covered in this beautiful fog. The trees especially looked so beautiful, all the branches were reaching out into the dense fog creating beautiful layers. The path looked so mysterious with a sense of eeriness too !! I don't shoot a lot of portrait photographs but really felt like this path lent itself to one, and actually really like it!

IMG_9580.jpg

With my trusty 50mm lens I was getting lots of details too, all the dead little twigs and branches looked like they had a new sense of life in this weather. These little flowers heads especially caught my eye, although they weren't very colourful I still loved the tones!

IMG_9546.jpg

I couldn't help but keep looking around, everywhere I looked was like I was looking at it for the first time. You could just make out trees in the distance or dark objects like barns or hedges. Every now and again shapes would appear in the distance out of the fog and a dog would come running up, it was so bizzare seeing people who were only 10 foot away just suddenly appear out of nowhere!

IMG_9543.jpg

IMG_9537.jpg

Taking photographs in the fog is so much fun because it allows you to play with contrast and shapes rather than colours. There were some branches reaching all the way down onto the field and all the lines from the branches looked amazing creating lovely shapes and patterns. I knew I wanted these to be in black and white, although even if I had left them in colour you wouldn't really have noticed that much! I have found that black and white photographs just allow you to get more contrast and depth and think this little series worked well!

IMG_9561.jpg

IMG_9563.jpg

IMG_9565.jpg

Because of the freezing temperatures we have been getting, icicles are appearing everywhere and all the water droplets that are hanging on the branches are lingering for a lot longer. I noticed these amazing ones on this branch and just had to get a shot of them! The bokeh was working well with the tones in the background.

IMG_9552.jpg

This lovely farm barn was appearing out of the depth of the fog and all the textures just looked great, the gaps in the wood full of fog, it looked like something out of a film! I really loved the effect it was creating around the fields.

IMG_9572.jpg

Taking photographs like this has reinvigorated by passion for art photography. Before I did wedding photography all I wanted to do was take fine art photography, and after this walk I got that same feeling I did years ago when I went out with my camera just for me. So... saying that I am going to start up a website to sell my photographs again, something I have on and off doing over the years with not much success! But I am even going to add the payment of crypto currency on my website so hopefully that means it will be more accessible! Of course as soon as it's live I will do a post!

I loved the simplicity of the small twigs sticking up in rows along this field, they all looked like they were creating patterns and lines that had been there for ages. The fog was the perfect background to these amazing natural lines. I can just imagine these on the wall in a nice frame, one of the reasons I just feel like I need to at least finish what I started as I do believe in fine art photography so much and I don't like the idea of them just being sat on my harddrive not doing anything!

IMG_9588.jpg

IMG_9592.jpg

As we continued on the walk we descended further into this foggy World, it was like each step we were discovering new objects and areas! The fog was really close so we were getting covered in a layer of water as we walked around. I didn't expect it to be this wet so hadn't put my hair up and ended up getting so wet! Washing my hair takes hours as I have so much of it so I was not impressed haha!

IMG_9608.jpg

IMG_9586.jpg

We came across this amazing fern like tree that was collecting lots of water droplets, it had so many on each branch it was amazing! It was one of the only green trees on the walk, an evergreen. It was so nice to see among all of the dead looking ones, it makes me excited for Spring and all the trees coming back to life with colour!

IMG_9630.jpg

I took another shot of this tree from below looking up, I just loved all the lines and textures it was creating, and thought it would work well in black and white!

IMG_9632.jpg

Our dog seemed to be loving the snowy weather, skidding after her ball all over the place, it was really good to get photos of her in this weather too, she stood out a lot more from the white background that's for sure!

IMG_9628.jpg

One of my favourite scenes from this whole walk was this disappearing fence. It really shows how much fog there was around and I loved the line going all the way down the path and either side just completely covered. This is part of the walk that normally you can see for miles so it was just so odd to see it like this and not see all the way across the fields!

IMG_9620.jpg

As we approached the forest it got a lot denser and darker, and looking over to the forest was quite scary! It was so surreal! It really did feel like we were in another World. People walking by us all thought the same, commenting on how bizzare this weather was! I was excited to head into the forest to continue our adventure but also a little apprehensive!

IMG_9638.jpg

I am so glad we chose to come out in this weather, although I was complaining a little on the way home because of how damp we were!, it was so worth seeing it all like this. The forest had amazing trees with some orange leaves still left on them. This created such a welcome addition of colour! The orange leaves and all these tall thin trees reminded me of some Japanese paintings, I loved how they looked so dreamy and ethereal looking.

IMG_9645.jpg

IMG_9652.jpg

I was trying to cover my lens to stop most of the mist getting on the lens but that created it to fog up a little but I took a photo anyway before it cleared and I actually really love this effect!

IMG_9703.jpg

I enjoyed taking photographs in the forest a lot more, there was more to play around with. More trees for contrast and more opportunities with creating layers. I was just in my element taking photographs of everything. Normally I have to try so hard to create atmosphere in my photographs but with this amazing fog I really didn't have to try that hard! There were these really amazing trees and I wanted to capture just those and turn it into a piece of art.

IMG_9660.jpg

There was this dead seed head which I thought would look great against the moody background so I got as close as I could and loved the contrast it created in front of all the trees!

IMG_9658.jpg

I saw these amazing trees and all this empty space and couldn't resist asking @skiesandsports to take a walk through them! As much as it is a set up shot I still love it, I have got better at carrying through with my ideas and have found that whenever I do I am always so pleased with the results! I loved the lines and shapes in this shot!

IMG_9675.jpg

After walking around the forest for a while we came across this beautiful lake, although you couldn't really tell it was a lake at all!! Weirdly there were these amazing colours that came out while I was editing them, some from the algae on the ice on the water but not sure where the pinky tones came from in this fog. This all just adds to me excitement of taking photographs in the fog!!

IMG_9689.jpg

You could see all the places the birds had walked around on the ice, creating lovely patterns as they strolled around on the ice! The colours of the ice was really pretty too! SO much inspiration on one walk!

IMG_9683.jpg

These two ducks looked like they were having a good conversation! I loved how they were positioned on the frozen ice just as it melted into the lake again! I have always thought that being a wildlife photographer would be so much fun, but I am so impatient that I think I would get bored very easily! I actually know quite a few wildlife photographers and know that it is a struggling profession nowadays, with all the stock photography out there there really is a limit to how much people want them these days. It is such a shame because there is real talent in doing it properly.

IMG_9697.jpg

You could just about make out the island in the middle of the lake and all the birds trying to shelter from the harsh weather. The lake looked so ethereal and would have made an amazing place for an actual photoshoot!

IMG_9701.jpg

A little further around the lake we saw these lovely swans having a gently swim in the lake. They were quite far away for my little 50mm but I got what I could and really loved the distance! I think the colours look really pastely and pretty! It must have been so cold in this weather but the birds didn't seem to mind!

IMG_9707.jpg

IMG_9709.jpg

The lake was still freezing and creating these unsual patterns and markings in the water. It would so cold to go in! I loved all the patterns though, although this week has been so cold and we have been cooped up inside a little bored being able to go out and explore this wilderness definitely made up for it!

IMG_9715.jpg

I hope you all have enjoyed this walk into the foggy world with me! It was such a beautiful walk and I feel like it really did inspire me to do more personal photography once again. I can't wait to get my website up and running and am so excited to share it with you all! Stay warm everyone!

Untitled-1.jpg

- Verity x
Photography by me and copyrighted to me.
Please UPVOTE / RESTEEM / FOLLOW to support my work on Steemit - Thank you!

Sort:  

STUNNING! I love to see weather so different than what i have over here by the caribbean! Loved it.

Thank you!! I would love some Caribbean weather right now !

Wow! Those are really beautiful pictures. Very inspiring. I loved especially the fog ones. ;)
(Upvoted and followed)

Thank you so much @artistleonardo ! Much appreciated!

very pretty photos miss @vtravels. you are truly gifted at photography! Good luck with the website, I'm sure you will do wonderfully with what you produce.

Thank you so much @alphasteem ! I am so excited about the website so thank you for your kind wishes!

Hey @vtravels, I come here from the nature photo contest, and I'm impressed by your beautiful works! And great job in describing the foggy walk. Seems it's worth 10 layers of clothes to do that! =)

Thank you for stopping by! Yes it was definitely worth getting damp and cold for ! It doesn't happen that often like this so had to make the most of it!

This idea to sell your photos in crypto currency is something I've been trying to run by other photographers (with little success). I am hoping it will be the end to copyright infringement if we can find the pictures we need from all around the world in a kind of Steemit-Stockpile. Individual websites also fine, but with a database accessible to us Steemians (for a nice price maybe if only used in a post that lasts 3-7 days.)
Look forward to your renewed interest in art photography. That stubble field is meditative (with memory and distant promise rolled into one and fading out into the distant horizon).

Oh really! I wonder why it's not something that's yet been successful! I just thought I would add it as an option as a few people have asked previously. Thank you for your comment!

Oooooooooo..... Eeeeeriee... mystical and magical and a little bit spooky - some of them. :P

I loved the one - didn't count - with your friend between the two trees. Maybe without the branches on the right side, it would have looked better (I'm a minimalist - so don't take it personal :) ).

And then the one with the two ducks is special as well.

Thank you!! Yes definitely a bit spooky!! It was surreal walking around in it!
Haha yeah I did actually think about removing those branches myself but I wanted it to be natural so left them in!! Loved the ones with the ducks too, one of my favourites!

Grate post! thanks for sharing

This photos are ammazing! thanks for sharing

Truly beautiful work Verity! I'm happy to hear your re-inspired and are going to sell prints. You have enough gorgeous, moody shots just from your walk to start a store, and I'm positive you already have many already up. I would personally love many of them in my home. I also love to shoot in the fog! It's a rare occurrence here, but I usually find myself scrambling for a model whenever it happens. It always surprises me when I hear other photographers don't like it!

Thank you so much Joleen ! Awww that's so kind of you, I just really wanted to do more with my photography than just have it sit on my harddrives, so I am just doing it for me initially, who knows where it will go! Oh yes I really would have loved a couple of models too! I tried to convince @skiesandsports and got a couple but it was rather damp!

Love these foggy images!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60795.60
ETH 2627.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58