“Height-field” : Collaborative Art Project (@everlove)

in #art8 years ago

Collaborative Art on Steemit

... is such an exciting opportunity for open dialogue among creatives and curators. I'm fascinated by it and wanted to have a go at this great initiative hosted by @everlove.

Here is my interpretation of everlove’s original photograph, which we were asked to reinterpret (linked here). I was interested in visualizing the image as a map, a textural environment seen from above. The overlapping and interwoven red reeds seemed to crave a sense of depth. As an urban planner, I enjoy discovering and building 3D patterns out of seemingly chaotic 2D strokes and textures. Here is the result, below:

About the Process

First, the original image was pixelated in photoshop and reduced down to sixteen color tones. Each color variation was then mapped with a corresponding height by using a digital modeling software. The result - a funky and dynamic kind of city-scape...


follow me @voronoi | design collective @hitheryon

> curiously exploring the digital world of art + architecture + urbanism + blockchain <

Sort:  

Good question! The process was photoshop > illustrator > rhinoceros (for 3D)

You constantly inspire me! Thank you. This is a whole new thought process. I teach my drawing students about creating an optical illusion of a 3D image on a flat surface, but your approach is fascinating.

You're very kind fairytalelife :)

What a brilliant addition to our repertoire @voronoi! Your finished piece reminds me of that game I used to play where the paper was filled with dots and each person would take their turn connecting the dots, attempting to make boxes. The idea to make and claim the most boxes. I'm really inspired by your work. The color variations are brilliant and I appreciate your technical skills in creating such a masterpiece. So grateful you have joined the game.

Thank you so much @everlove! I definitely treated each puzzle piece as a kind of game, making rules and extruding to heights according to color. I had a lot of fun with it ;)

I love that you have such an interesting perspective. I love all the drawings you do, and even though I'm always conjuring up new ideas myself, your perspective always adds another layer of awesomeness. Thank you for playing with us.

=) I'm looking forward to more collaborations in the future!

Hot jings, that's a clever way of doing it! Love it

Thanks for the kind words boom! Glad you dig it.

Thanks so much! It's fascinating to see the scope of responses to the original photo. Happy to be a part of Steemit's growing creative community.

What an interesting idea. Nice job!

Hey thanks brian! Glad you like it :)

Thanks so much!

So cool! I love how everyone has a different vision from the first stepping stone. Fantastic job.

Thanks so much! It's really interesting to browse around all of the different interpretations :)

I love that too @merej99. Oh such funnnnnesss!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57889.68
ETH 2457.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40