Come and go art flow breakthrough

in #art7 years ago (edited)

I enjoy creating a community space for creative projects. During one event where I was grilling meats for a group, I had an idea passed to me revolving around an art space that's established in Winnipeg. This is a space where artists come together and work on projects together. Right away I thought wow, what a great idea! Would I ever love to see something like that come up in our community. So, I went to my friend who's on the council of a local community centre.

She's totally hip with the idea at this point, so I chose to continue persisting in the efforts of establishing the event.

Realizing the need for some leadership I offered my skills and expertise in creating foundational spaces.

Made the appropriate Facebook events, and ads in our own small town version of craigslist. Which in itself I feel undermines the international support network we have available, but it is what people use here. And recognize. Regardless. The date is chosen, the stage is set.

We are talking about an open art space or the 'come and go art flow' as I've coined it. Very simple structure. People come with whatever they want and do whatever they want. A creative space for comutualbexperience to be shared among friends, and make new acquaintances.

I'm a little excited at this point, to see what happens. But let's say, I've had friends showing interest. Offering to take part in our potluck idea. Allowing us to express that creativity through culinary arts, or any other mediums. One friend is bringing her acro yoga group. Others bring paints, beads, leather or whatever it is they feel.

On top of that, I've also had a city official offer to bring funding for my events allowing greater access to expansion in any number of areas. People wanting to advertise for me.

Who knows what will happen.

I'd like to urge you to do something similar in your own community. All free of charge. It's what people need, to get out of their homes for reasons other than drinking eating and work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57276.13
ETH 2437.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39