''One day before...'' - Watercolor  + step by step process

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Hello, friends!

This watercolor work I painted on the online webinar. I really liked the story. I realized that I like watercolor city landscape, where there are people. On the webinar the teacher taught to draw people in perspective. Very useful knowledge!

The picture shows the station. I showed this picture to my husband, and he immediately said that my drawing reminds him of an illustration to a book that we have long read. I was surprised because we rarely read the same books. My husband reminded me of a book we actually read. It's a fantasy novel in which the action takes place after the atomic war. People who at that moment were in the subway were saved. There they lived throughout the book. So here is my picture reminded my husband the time of peace before the war!

I was surprised by this аssociation, but on the other hand I am glad that my work made an impression. That's why I called it - ''One day before...''

Process of creating

I drew the windows at the end of the platform.

It took a lot of time to sketch with a pencil, where I built the proportions of people. All lines must converge at one point.

Then I moistened the paper. I painted with a broad brush with yellow and brown paint the walls and ceiling of the station. I painted over the closest man, but then I took a dry cloth and erased the paint. I also used a spray gun to spray water on the center of the painting. It had a magical effect.

Then I gave the picture to dry and began to paint people. The сentral character in the picture is an old man, whom we see from the back. I detailed his clothes. People who don't need so much detail away.

I added small details to the walls of the station and the ceiling, as well as painted lamps.

The picture is ready!

Are you afraid to show unsuccessful work? I am afraid. I painted this picture twice. The first picture I painted at the same time with live webinar. It's left. I realized that I do not have enough materials - a wide brush and spray. I went to the store and bought them. After that, I painted a second time while the webinar was open (it was open 24 hours). On the right is what I got 8 hours after the first picture. The difference between them is very noticeable. This means that you need to train, train and train again )

Also with my creativity I recently got the motto "I want to achieve more!". Even the second picture is not the final good option in my understanding. I know it can be better and I want to achieve more!

The drawing is made on the basis of MK https://kalachevaschool.ru/

Cheers

@veta-less

SB_new.png

Sort:  

I am also afraid to show unsuccessful work since I don't even feel confident showing my 'successful' ones hehehe.
                       
But the one on the left is not bad, the marks make it appropriate since the title is one day before the accident. However I prefer the right version, if I have to choose so it's good that you repainted it ^_^.

@scrawly "I don't even feel confident showing my 'successful' ones hehehe."
I understand....
Chinese painting has made me hard. I remember that for a long time my family did not understand my drawings. They asked - what is it?? why are the leaves black? which side to look at the picture??? ))))


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Veta-less from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Nice, I like it! Kinda surreal. The way they are walking towards the light makes me think these people are walking into the gates of heaven. You had a great improvement from the first one to the second one so I bet you're future paintings will just get even better!

What an interesting Association! I am glad that I was able to show the light at the end ) Thank you for your comment)

А где Лондон?

это картина еще с августа лежит

Beautiful and moody<3
I would like to try online course too

@nanosesame Thank you! Oh, I took an online course and realized that I like it, because I can do at any time convenient to me - the main thing to pay for a month)

Hey, @veta-less.

For all of us who can't do anything with watercolor, any attempt can be a successful one, even the failed ones. Plus, you get to learn from them, too, right?

That's interesting how what you painted reminded your husband of that book and its story. It's possible, I suppose, that you were subconsciously pulling on that while you painted this. In my mind, though, the watercolor is more about walking toward the light.

It's hard to tell without a closer look, but it appears to me that everyone is walking towards the windows. At the very least, most are. That brings out some symbolism, such as spirits walking down a long corridor after they die, heading to the light of the afterlife.

Or it could mean enlightenment. All of them on a journey to higher meaning and purpose. I don't know. I think it be about a lot of things, beyond just heading into a train station.

I like it. I think you should keep sharing, too. :)

@glenalbrethsen I liked your associations and assumptions very much! And I'm glad that I was able to portray this light from the windows. Yes, I think that this has its own secret meaning, which everyone understands for himself)
Thank you for your comment!

Very nice, @veta-less <3 I really like the corridor's lighting and ambience in this picture <3 Beautiful colours !!! The walking man's shape is also done well, and I love the waiting woman and child, also <3 I really like the looseness of your watercolour, it makes the painting feels organic and alive <3

Thank you dear @veryspider I really like this picture, I'm just proud of it:)) But I want to finalize this story, add people...more details on the walls...Maybe when I have more time )

I've seen those lines before and never really understood how they 'confirm' proper perspective! A must-know when painting :) Love the finished product too ... watercolor is my favorite!

Oh, most important thing is to choose one segment, which make the growth of man, and through its ends and a point on the horizon to draw lines. Then all people will be of uniform growth.

Thanks for the comment!

Your painting feels rather magical! You did an excellent job with it and it will be interesting to see if you can take it further to the way you envision it to be.
Nicely done, and I do like the title that you chose for it 'The day before'. I can see where it would remind your husband of that book.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87