Tonight’s warm up ink sketches

in #art6 years ago (edited)


I got to see my family this evening for a joint birthday dinner. A late gathering for my father and I, early one for my sister-in-law. It was great seeing my family but the restaurant we chose was so busy that it was difficult to speak to one another without shouting across the table. The food was good, the dessert was delicious, and the smiles I could see on everyone’s faces made it worth while. I’ll probably be seeing them before our next trip out of town. 

My sketches tonight were all over the place. I did make an attempt to sketch the face in different angles but I got bored and moved on to other drawings. I’m getting there. Maybe I should try drawing skulls again.

I started doing simple body studies before I sketched the portrait above. The lip biting was really hard to sketch but I got it looking right after thinning out the bottom lip. I also had the lift the airline because her forehead was nonexistent. I really love digital art.

For those of you who are new to my work. The program I’m using is Procreate for iPad, I’m drawing on the iPad Pro with the Apple Pencil. I’m also working on coloring it in tonight but I should probably wait until I figure out what I’m going to draw for the next fox tales image. 


Thanks for checking out my sketches!

What’s your favorite facial feature to draw? 🦊

Sort:  

You are going light speed ahead with drawings..Must say that since been following your work for a while now. First one, that expression, thinking, having doubt, being confused, you got all that in one. Bravo @vermillionfox.!

Thank you so much @jungwatercolor! It’s such a rewarding feeling to know that you and many others are viewing my work and seeing my daily progress. :)

Yes :) If I'm not leaving comment doesn't mean I'm not there watching over :) It's pleasure to tell you watching your progress. Each time I see someone going those huge steps in progress somehow it makes me happy :)

😭❤️ Thank you! Your the best!

Looks great, you really did nail the lip bite in the end! That’s an interesting pencil grip you use... I may have to try it since you’re getting such good results!

Is it? It’s the same way I hold my chopsticks! 🤣 How do you hold your pencil?

I’m a pretty standard writing grip, which I guess is technically “wrong” for drawing.

This is the sketching/drawing type grip I’m familiar with and was taught but rarely use.

Your style is kind of a hybrid. It looks like a writing grip but with loose relaxed fingers...

Hope I’m not making you overthink your grip! I just found it intriguing! 🙃

I’m familiar with both grips and I’d agree with you and say that mine is a hybrid!

Wow it's so cool .. Check out mine Screenshot_2018-01-28-19-45-30.pngIMG_20180128_213024_111.jpg
I made it on my tablet. How is it? @vermillionfox

I like the offset I’m the eyes of the lip biting one it creates an interesting expression. I tend to draw fearful faces for some reason. I think it’s because it something that comes more easily for me. I think I wil have to do a study to broaden my scope of facial expressions.

What is it like working digitally? Is the iPad responsive enough to put down accurate lines? I haven’t had the chance to try it yet. I would like to if only to digitise more of my sketches.

It’s amazing. I find myself drawing more often because of the convenience. I don’t have to pack all of my supplies with me or buy more when I run out and yes, the lines are very accurate. I’d recommend trying the iPad Pro with Apple Pencil at a store when possible.

Ahhh cool I'll keep an eye for a store where I can try one. Thanks :)

Nice sketches. Reminds me of myself as a kid. Used to do lots of sketches but sometimes, growing up makes one abandon some talents and skills. 😔

Ahh, yes. I took a very long break from art before I picked it up again. I hope you’ll be able to find time to create more art in the future.

Super cool sketch! really like that lip bite, it's quite difficult to draw and you executed it very well!
my favourite facial feature to draw are probably eyes

Thank you! It was very hard. It’s always a toss up between lips and eyes for me.

Wow..Amazing art..I appreciate your blog..I like it..Thanks for sharing this post..
Carry on my dear.

Thank you so much!

I've been away from Steemit for awhile, so I'm catching up on all of your posts XD But love your sketches as always. I never would've guessed the lip-biting gave you difficult, it came out so good in the end.

It's hard to pick what my favorite facial feature is to draw; I tend to just really enjoy drawing faces as a whole. I love playing with expressions and seeing different ways to show different emotions on my characters. Maybe the eyes, if I had to pick one part.

I always have a hard time staying on top of posts myself. I’ll have to upload the time lapse of it later but I had to redraw the corner of the lips a couple of times!

Your faces and expressions are the best!

I like drawing mouths, I think because they can take so many shapes.
You have such freedom using technology on the go! I hesitate to bring my sketchbook and pens around because I feel tethered in a way. I send you admiration along with the upvote ☺

I agree with you. The shapes are fun but teeth can be a little tricky for me.

I made an attempt with carrying a moleskin with me a couple years back and I felt a lot of pressure which kept me from sketching in it. Digital tools are so forgiving! Thanks for the upvote and swinging through! :)

that's a great facial expression!

Thank you! Drawing expressions are a lot of fun for me.

I can tell. You really go out on a limb, but it works...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71023.23
ETH 3852.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49