That comic book feel

in #art6 years ago


Have you ever been curious to see me draw in a comic book style?


Well, wonder no more!!! I was finally able to find time to draw yesterday and I wanted to go for a different look. To be honest, I wasn’t very confident with my outline sketch but I was stubborn enough to continued sketching until I got her looking good.

I’m stilling going for a minimalistic, finished not perfect look. Keeping the washes of color soft and dreamy in contrast with the bold lines.

I love the finished sketch without color for many different reasons but that didn’t stop me from experimenting further.

For those of you who aren’t familiar, I do all of my digital drawings on the Procreate App for the iPad Pro using the Apple Pencil. I sketched the final draft of this image with a pencil tool that I downloaded from the Procreate forum page. Then I started to shade areas of the face like I normally would with the round brush tool on a lower opacity. I liked to turn the color opacity down with the round brush tool because it looks similar to Copic markers.

I added several layers of red/pinky warm tones, building up the color until I was satisfied with the look. I also added a purple wash of color to the background. Purple is still my favorite color.

Looking at this image now reminds me of a conversation I had with a makeup artist during our trip to the west coast. I had explained to her that it would be great for me to acquire skills in hair and makeup (to help on shoots) because there are always cancellations on important shoot dates. After seeing my art, she had encouraged me to pursue a career in makeup based off my painting skills! I was extremely flattered. ☺️ I doubt I’d make a career out of it but leveling up my skills would be nice for the future.

There was something lacking in the skin so I mixed in yellow, blue, and pink in their lightest colors.

The last thing I did were the highlights. The bold lines around her eyes and down her cheeks were a happy accident that I let happen.


What do you think? Should I do a few more drawings in this style?

Thanks for stopping by to view my work!🦊

Sort:  

Gyah! Yes! Do more! Make a comic!!!!

I should!!!! 😃

Hello @vermillionfox, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

She has a lovely and soft expression, you definitely should make more drawing like this.

Actually you should just draw anything you like, don't restrict yourself, fox-chan, because drawing is already hard as it is... for me anyway ^^.

I think I will! :)

Get out of here! Your drawings are so beautiful and it always looks like you’ve drawn them effortlessly!

Hahaha I wish I could draw effortlessly, then I would be able to enjoy it more. You are being too nice foxxie ^^.

Wow you don't do anything wrong! It has been excellent the digital work you did, you should consider making your own comic in the future would be a total success :D

Thanks @gvand!! I’ll have to come up with a short story that I feel really good about! ^^

Oh I love this, foxie ! Very nice and chiseled facial features ! Love her lips, so luscious and her eyes are wonderful, also <3 the white lines over her rose make up makes her super fab <3 like a pop star of the future ! :D

Thanks Spidey!!! 💜 I’ve been really into blushy rose makeup looks and it seems to be appearing stronger in how I color now. XD The white lines were an accident but I liked the furtistic vibe so it makes me happy to hear that you can feel that too!!!

This is so cool, she's so pretty :D
You captured a strong artstyle so great, I love her expression. For me stylizing humans is the hardest thing in art ^^

Aww! That’s @kristyglas! Now, if only I could make all my portraits just as pretty! I’ve been experimenting a lot with character design and color combos are always a challenge. Maybe that’s why I always rely on the same color palettes. 😅

Definitely yes, congratulations you have a lot of talent

Definitely yes,
Congratulations you have
A lot of talent

                 - oscarina


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

I love this and your soft pastel tones are so good in this one as well. I'm always dreaming of a comic as well, there has been one sifting about in my head for years, but I've yet to string it together. The character takes shape in my paintings and drawings but I haven't given her full run of my life yet. She'll get out one of these days.

I wonder if this character will visit you again?

I’m glad the pastels work since it’s my signature look. 😊 Is this the same comic we’ve chatted about before in my WEBTOON post? I hope you’re able to move onto that project soon!

I need to get better about drawing characters from different perspectives. When that time comes then I’ll gladly revisit this pretty gal. ^^

Caught this on kommie’s resteem. This piece is delicate but compelling. She’s very lovely!

I do remember some of your pieces from the writing contest you ran previously. I had hoped to enter, but timing never worked out. I think this style suits you very well, you should definitely persist with it. :)

Thanks @linnyplant!

I’m planning on dabbling with this style a bit more to perfect it. I’m also planning to bring back my writing contest... eventually. ^^

I would definitely love to see more posts like that. I always liked your drawing and this style is particularly beautiful. I love the line work and the colors!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks so much! :) It’s refreshing to try out something new. I’ve been a little all over the place with my art lately so it’s nice to get back to my digital tools.

Trying new things, makes a good artist, I think. It’s good to be comfortable with a variety of things. But of course we all have our favorite field :-)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63313.88
ETH 2629.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76