Take flight

in #art7 years ago (edited)


My next few blog posts will be dedicated to my digital art. I’ve been itching to take some new photos of myself but I’ve neglected to upload the ones I’ve already taken. I’ll get on that after I’ve released more sketches. 

Birds are actually one of my favorite animals to draw. I’ve always been captivated with their beauty and movements. I’m sure I’ve posted sketches of Toucans before but back then my photography was gaining more momentum than my drawings.

After sketching the outline and adjusting the length of the wings, I started to slowly define the shape of the feathers and add some shading the the entire body.

More dark shading and inked lines. 

I thought it would be interesting to add a circle in the middle. In my next drawing, I’ll attempt to add more elements to the background.

The highlights always bring my drawings to life. I carefully placed light strokes to simulate slight movement in the birds small chest feathers. 


I hope you enjoyed the drawing! Thanks for taking a look!

What’s your favorite animal to draw? 🦊

Sort:  

Yes to more pics of you! They are always so artistically gorgeous!
This petite bird looks like it's about to flee the page, lovely <3

I think I’ll try to do some new shoots next week. :)

Your bird looks beautiful, graceful, free from the page, my birds are wide flat M's on the horizon😂

You’re a minimalist! 😆

You'r seeing a lot of birds today.

image.jpeg

Spotted a couple😂

😂 Sooo Jelly!

Aw. Your bird is beautiful. Somehow I really like the background circle you added. I can imagine it being red. Reminds me of Japanese drawings of cranes.

When I was younger I really loved drawing horses. Sadly I haven't drawn a horse for a very long time now. Maybe I will try again soon. Now I am not sure what animal is my favorite to draw anymore. Maybe a dragon.

Ah! That makes a lot of sense. I’ve seen paintings like that and I love how the ink strikes look.

Dragons are hard for me but horses are something I used to draw a bunch as a kid too. Then I gradually turned them into unicorns...cuz I was a fancy kid. 😏🦄

Oh what a lovely post and such a pretty bird <3 It does look like it is taking flight! Wonderful~

I like fishies. They are fun :D

upvotes

Thank you so much! I also like fish. I’ve drawn some chubby cheeked goldfish in the best. I’ll have to do some new studies. :)

Think it would have looked good with or without the circle, the circle does add a little bit extra :) Love it's little claws, so cute. Coming in for landing? Nice shape wiht the wings, I'm still trying to get the hang of wing shapes in various aspects of flight and have yet to figure out tertials XD

Looks really nice :)

goatsig

Thank you! The shapes can be a little tricky when they bend. The little feet are my favorite. I always love drawings of fairies that have bird feet. So cute.

Gorgeous and slightly somber with the grays. I almost want to see some ashy blue highlights pop out of the wings.

I actually thought about adding a blue highlight. You definitely know my style. Alas, I got bored and had to call it a day.

Wow, what a fascinating art! Congrats, keep going please.

this is a good post, you have a beautiful skill

I like it but I think, it's need more colour. If you make this circle red, I'm gonna fall in love with it.

Maybe next time. I typically don’t go back to revise images once I’ve reached my limit.

Oh, I'm always keep editing them. I couldn't be satisfied with them. It's little bit sick but I can't hold myself :(

I understand the feeling. I’ve been limiting myself between 2-4 hours for each drawing. The way I see it, the more stuff I can push out the more practice I’m getting.

Really cool how you show the process :)

I’m glad you liked it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55981.35
ETH 2368.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35