Sketch in red tones

in #art7 years ago (edited)

I spent most of my afternoon sketching while playing La Belle et la Bête (Directed by Christophe Gans) in the background. I love fairy tales and I heard that this film was based on the traditional tale written by Gabrielle-Suzanne Bardot de Villeneuve.  

I really wasn't expecting much from the film but it was actually better than I thought it would be. I had selected it at random on my Netflix account for white noise. Sometimes extra stimulation helps me zone out while I sketch. The costume and set designs in the film were beautiful. It reminded me of a Guillermo del Toro film but then again, his designs are breathtaking.  

I was planning on practicing my feet again but sketching this pretty face seemed like a better idea! I'm also gathering a few ideas for the next Musings post. It has me going back and forth with myself. There is so much left to share but which direction do I go? I'm very thankful for all the support I've been receiving from the local Steemit users here in Minneapolis and from everyone who has been viewing/commenting on my work. Thank you! 

I'm sure I've said it before, but I like to sketch in color. I'll usually select warmer tones because I like the contrast and depth created on a darker background. Somehow, using color keeps me interested in my sketches. This sketch isn't complete but I feel like I stopped at a good place. Maybe I'll pick this up again and I'll turn her into Nissa Revane from Magic: The gathering. 

This sketch was drawn the Procreate App using the Apple Pencil on iPad Pro. 

Thanks for checking out this post!

Sort:  

Very nice work

Thank you! I try.

OMG Please make her into Nissa! Or maybe Avacyn? Though it's really quite lovely as is.

Upvoted and followed :)

Oh! A MTG lover, yay! I'm gonna follow you back! Ugh, I've been trying to draw Nissa forever but her hairstyle messes me up and I tried Painting Liliana and somehow she turned into a Disney princess. 😐

The world needs a kid-friendly Liliana!

Sure, it'll be the next best thing after Plants vs Zombies! 😝

It is like a photgraph! How talented you are @vermillionfox ! Thank you for making our community even more beautiful ~ STEEM On !

You're very kind. Thank you!

I like this sketch very much! It is elegant and simple! Your use of monotone but in a color is impeccable!! Great job! I'd love some of your feedback on my art sometime if you have a chance! :) Your friend ~Hratch

Thanks! I've followed you and I'll be sure to take a look! :)

de verdad hermoso me gusto, tambien dibujo en mis tiempos libres, nunca e probado esa app voy a intentarlo.. Gracias por tu bosquejo

The App is really easy and fun to use. Thanks for checking out my art!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57560.27
ETH 2570.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48