Serial Experiments Lain Sketch

in #art7 years ago (edited)

I'm not too sure about what I'll be doing with the rest of my day now that this sketch is finished. Yesterday was pretty frustrating. I've been wanting to draw Lain for a very long time and I ended up jumping all over the place with this sketch. At one point she almost turned into a demonic creature. You'll find out more about that in a later post.

The rest of this week will be busy. I'll be traveling to the east coast with @kommienezuspadt. I have to find a new travel bag and think about what I'll be able to pack. I'll get to see @bonni soon! It was her birthday yesterday (Yay!) and we gifted her an iPad Pro. I'm looking forward to our reunion and showing her how to draw on the Procreate App. 

If you're into cyberpunk, mystery, science fiction, psychological horror, and a little drama then the avant-garde anime series Serial Experiments Lain is for you! I was introduced to this series by accident. I made my regular trip to Suncoast: motion picture company to buy some movies on VHS like I usually do. The cover art was captivating and I ended up buying the first copy. Looking back, I can now see why I have a love for psychological horror. 

Serial Experiments Lain is a series focused on Lain Iwakura, an adolescent middle school girl living in suburban Japan, and her introduction to the Wired, a global communications network which is similar to the Internet. Lain lives with her middle-class family, which consists of her inexpressive older sister Mika, her emotionally distant mother, and her computer-obsessed father; while Lain herself is somewhat awkward, introverted, and socially isolated from most of her school peers. 
The status-quo of her life becomes upturned by a series of bizarre incidents that start to take place after she learns that girls from her school have received an e-mail from a dead student, Chisa Yomoda, and she pulls out her old computer in order to check for the same message. Lain finds Chisa telling her that she is not dead, but has merely "abandoned her physical body and flesh" and is alive deep within the virtual reality-world of the Wired itself, where she has found the almighty and divine "God". From this point, Lain is caught up in a series of cryptic and surreal events that see her delving deeper into the mystery of the network in a narrative that explores themes of consciousness, perception, and the nature of reality.

(Source)

I will be releasing a video on my next post with my thoughts behind this sketch. 

Thanks for viewing this post!

Sort:  

What program do you use?
Well this is an amazing drawing.
I wish I were as talented as you haha.

Thank you but remember that everyone can draw! You just have to be strict with yourself and practice. I'm using my Apple Pencil on my iPad Pro on the Procreate App.

+1 to this. Everyone can draw, what people struggle with is being dedicated enough to learn it.

Yep! I've been practicing my faces over this past year and It'll take me just as long to gain new skills.

That's beautiful. Your characters are drawn flawlessly. I like way you draw the faces. Very classy

Thank you, I see myself improving with each sketch. :)

@vermillionfox I can't draw on those things to save my life. Pencil and paper is my go to until I can get the hang of onscreen sketching

Trust me, sometimes I miss traditional art. The smell and feel of it, but digital is more practical for me. I've saved a lot of money. As technology advances you'll notice that one tool made correctly will convince you into believing that you're sketching with real pencil on paper.

Nicely done @vermillionfox! Looks great - Keep at it :)

Thank you! I will :D

This is cool- glad i found something like this here- following you- hope to learn something new too.

Thank you. I look forward to sharing more work for you to check out!

Some behind the scenes are good too- We can see how your drawing evolves but how/what are you doing to do that- external recording as well as screen recording gona be cool.

I like seeing behind the scenes stuff so this was really fun to make.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65702.61
ETH 3485.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51