Ragged old bones

in #art6 years ago


Good afternoon Steemit! I’m hanging out at caffetto now waiting for the rest of the group to arrive. I may play Magic today since I’ve been passing on the opportunity to focus on my drawings. Lately I’ve been thinking of posting a daily sketch along with images from my past travels but I might continue told hold off on those pictures. I’m liking how my blog looks right now since it’s only filled with my digital art. Sometimes I get sick of seeing myself.

I would’ve loved to share gifs of the drawing process but it seems like the auto-record for the Procreate App doesn’t work when you’ve downloaded a pre-made document. I guess I’ll have to do a live-stream on dtube soon! It’s been awhile. :)


The Process...

This sketch was drawn using the Procreate App on the iPad Pro with Apple Pencil. If you have the app then I’d recommend visiting Aaaronorg’s watercolour workflow thread  to download the same texture document or brushes if you like the look!


The outline sketch for the skill was fairly easy. I used a P4 pencil and then adjusted the size/shape with the liquify tool.

Shading was slowly built up using the Light Start watercolor brush and then blending/softening the harsh lines with the Colour mixer.

I made a copy of the P4 pencils to make the lines appear bolder.

I wasn’t planning on using more than one shade but I liked how warn out and aged the skulled looked with blotches of amber.

For added dimension, I selected a deep coral color to mix in with the shadows.

It took me awhile to figure out what wash of color to do in the background. I went back and forth between red and purple before I settled on grey. The bright amber colors seemed to pop better with a muted color in the back.


Thanks for stopping by to view today’s art!


These textured water color sketches look pretty awesome in my opinion. What do you think?🦊

Sort:  

I also think this looks pretty awesome. I love the colors you've chosen

Thanks @patschwork! I just noticed that these are similar colors that I find in my photography as well!

foxi ! this is really nice <3 love the 'aged' look that you created with the colours, mixing the warm and cool tones <3 very nice !!!

☺️ Yay!! Thanks spidey! Now...to figure out how I did it so I can recreate it...🤔


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Complementary colours make everything look better anyway ;D Great looking skull!

They do! I’m really into them right now!

Yes! The texture paper is awesome but only because you know how to use it well :D. I really like the blue underneath and the yellowish colour on the skull. It makes it look really old and decrepit.      
                   
Nice colours foxxiechan :D.          
                   
-upvoted-              
                   

Aww, I’m glad you think so! I’m kind of messing around and I’m getting lucky with the look so far. I’m also glad that I was able to nail that rusty aged bones look. Now I have to find more skeletons to sketch soon!

It's an incredible digital job! The details of the color of the skull make it look very natural, it fits you very well :)

Thanks for all the compliments @gvand! I get a great booste when people are able to identify my art as mine from first glance. :D

I am loving your textured papers, they are enticing are they not.

I played with those ideas early on in Steemit about when to post about what. I posted more about gardens and chickens sometimes, but then realized I really enjoyed focusing on my creative bit of my day. I sort of like to have one post a week be about not just my art, but I don't always stick with that schedule either.

In a way I've come to think of Steemit as my digital studio space to pop something up on the wall and see what crit I get from others.

Still jealous of your cafe scene, lovely having that :)

They are! I keep going back for more!

Yeah, I keep going back and forth with my content and I’m still unable to follow a set schedule either. I love your garden posts! Your chickens are so amazing! ^^

Yeah! Cool skull, really appreciate the explanation. Big fan of watercolors and creepy subjects.

Thanks! I’ve been itching to draw more creepy things, I just don’t know what I should do next.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69774.83
ETH 3620.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72