Needle felting for the first time

in #art7 years ago (edited)


I had some leisurely time today so I watched a bunch of random k-pop videos, took a nap, and started needle felting for the first time. 

The idea of needle felting came to mind after seeing an amazing sculpture created by an artist that I admire. Plus, I love colorful fluffy things and I’ll love it more if I’m the one who’s making it. 

I chose Oddish, which is a fairly simple subject for my first project. I also made the mistake of giving myself a pretty painful prick when I wasn’t paying attention. I’ve definitely learned my lesson.

Poking at balls of fabric was actually a lot of fun. Getting the right shapes down were hard but I got the hang of it. I was able to get my leaves to look more pointed rather than round.

 I also learned that making too many pokes can undo what’s been done. I added small amounts of fabric to bind the two separate parts together.

Then I started to shape the body to make it look more plump and finished it off by adding the eyes. Kinda cute right? I’m thinking about making some token creatures and planes walkers to use while playing magic. I’m also thinking about making something cute for my nephew. 


Thanks for stopping by!

Do you have any tips to help me out while I’m needle felting? 🦊

Sort:  

Ahh so thats how its done. Ive seen those a few times before at craft fairs and that type of thing. I was never sure how they were made. Haha I feel I've learnt something now 😅

Are you interested in picking up this activity? You could make something mighty cute.

Haha Im barely able to keep with the interests I have as it is 😄 I've just often seen these and never could work out how they were made.

..needle felting makes me wanna bash my brain against the wall lol.... i prefer wet felting...so much faster and weter. :)

I do love the result though!

[ queue loud screaming ]
THIS IS SO CUTE AAAAAAAAA

[ joins in on the screaming ] 😝

Isn’t it!? I might do another one if I finish my contest image for fox tales fast enough.

Now this is interesting ...
It's the thump pricking that am scared of, and you make very in-depth paintings and drawings to go prick your hands ooooh....
Lol.....
Anyway, can't wait for anouncement of last foxtales winner and the character for the new one.... So excited ...

I’ve actually thought of picking up embroidery. Who knows. I wanna do it all :)

How many times did you poke yourself with the needle while making that lil cutie? I always end up with multiple stabs on myself when I needle felt😅

Once and it was pretty dramatic. I got myself right On the side of my pointer finger nail. 😭 It’s a much bigger poke than a regular needle you sew with.

I know! It is a little angular and has the tiniest hooks that feel oh so good when they go through your skin....

I love needle felting and it's something I'm always tempted to try but feels a little ... intimidating? It might be my fear of pricking myself haha. But it also amazes me at how repeatedly stabbing felt can create such cute little things!

Wear gloves if you can because a needle poke sucks. Have you seen that old trend of people making cats out of their cats fur? I’m pretty sure they were needle felting. 😅

Oh M Gee the white one with bunny ears! I think people also felted with angora rabbit fur as well. When I did it I just ordered the wool.

Love needle felting, never tried making a cat hat going to give it a go lol

Great job, looks like I found a new hobby if I figure out where to buy the materials :D

I ordered the whole kit on amazon. Nice and easy. :)

Adorbs. Looks like a nice, creative hobby to get into.

It’s so much fun! I gotta think of other cute things to make since I have a whole bag full of bright colors.

This is just too much on the cuteness level! I’ve been wanting to try felting but have felt intimidated LOL💜

I wanna try doing something detailed later but I was super intimidated at first!

Geez girly! You are super talented, if I had your skills........ lol Can't wait to see what you create later!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63398.53
ETH 2660.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77