Musings IX

in #art7 years ago (edited)

I've never been obedient. 

It's in my nature. I hate being told to stop, that I'm not allowed or that it's inappropriate when logically it makes perfect sense. I'm a nonconformist. I date outside my race, I wear what I want, I treat everyone with respect and kindness while others choose to whisper harsh things behind their backs. I strive for equality and I continue forward with the hope for better days.

Our societies teach us to shame each other for not playing our roles correctly. 

Labels are constantly being placed on several groups. Labels that make you question the reasons why they were created in the first place. What if I fell into more than one category? Would I be cast aside because I could not and chose not to fit in? 

Race, gender, environment, finances, and sexual preference- I want all those titles to be stripped away. I want everyone to think about what's left behind once these things no longer matter.

Are you kind when no one is around?

Some might say that my judgement of others is harsh, I'd like to think that I'm speaking truth. It's been laid out in front of me and others choose to ignore the obvious. If you're being a jerk then you'll hear it straight from my lips. We've been conditioned to perceive certain levels of cruelty as normal. 

Too often do I overhear people speaking poorly of those they consider a friend. The person speaking cares only for themselves. The person listening cares more for the opinions of others rather than friendship. In a different situation these issues could be resolved by simply confronting the person and sharing ones feelings, but that almost never happens. Next week we will overhear another story, same issues but different friends and it becomes an endless cycle. 

I've been very fortunate to have a tight group of like minded friends. No judgement, just patience. We inspire each other and acknowledge that there is so much left to accomplish. We keep our heads high and support one another as we continue to grow.

Thanks for reading my musings. 

Sort:  

Nice article @vermillionfox where are you from if I may ask?

Thanks @jameshsmitharts, I'm from the US.

Ok nice where abouts? I grew up in LA but live in London now.

Haha, wasn't sure if you wanted the specifics. I live in Minneapolis, MN.

Is that where they shot Fargo? Just kidding ;)
Look forward to seeing your next art post.

I actually stopped watching the show because it got creepy for me. If you check out the video from my last post then I'm almost positive that you can hear my midwestern accent. Thanks for checking out this post and I look forward to your posts as well! :)

I've never seen the series. I love the film though. Ooookeee Margieee!

Their accents are REALLY exaggerated! I watched the series because I'm a Martin Freeman fan.

I really enjoy these musings of yours :)

Nice musings @vermillionfox, I have found that in any relationship open and honest communication is the key. It's sad when supposed friends treat you like garbage behind your back. It's awesome to hear that you keep your head up and stick to your true friends :)

I agree with @dexter-k, communication plays a major role. The people you surround yourself with are reflections of yourself. I'll stick with those that are honest to a fault. Yay! :)

I reject the gender binary.

YES! Others should follow your lead!

I'm more of a follower, but if I'm out here all alone, I guess I'm leading. I'm sure someone will pass me soon, and then I'll be able to follow them. Do you read http://www.bitchmedia.org ?

Nope, but I'll check it out.

I think you'll like it.

Real relationships... that's the goal.

HOT STUFF!! Yess girl <3 I love how sweet and kind you are! You also empower and motivate others which is SO rareee

Great posr my sister

Fllow + upvote +

Plz flliw me and upvote

we think much the same. I think? I was going to add more about it. perhaps later. just lazy atm.

Hah, yeah I get that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62548.40
ETH 3435.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51