Meaning behind my tattoo

in #art7 years ago (edited)

I have two tattoos on my back. Sometimes I forget that they exist since it's not in a visible area. They remained covered until the summer heat reaches me. When they are out in plain sight and then suddenly revealed, I get surprised reactions from those that I'm just becoming familiar with. I am very petite so I think it's the size that comes as a shock. 

The artist who created this beauty was Reime Jahr, a local Minnesotan. You can find her at Evolution Tattoo in Bloomington. I met her through an acquaintance and have always admired her style. Overall, she's a fantastic artist with a great personality. She's also a gigantic dork like I am! 

I wanted this image to have a whimsical feel to it. I trusted Reime and gave her full artistic freedom, which is difficult for many. She's shared stories of clients who would micromanage her from start to finish. 

Reime was actually the one that suggested that I place an animal in the center. I chose the fox, which has similar attributes to my own. 

  • Wisdom
  • Cunning
  • Strategy
  • Cleverness
  • Adaptability
  • Quick-thinking

The frame represents the expectations that are placed on us. The forest [which are dreams] cannot be contained within that frame. I paint outside of that frame. As you move further from the center of the frame things because more realistic. 

I plan on getting my entire back and maybe my hips tattooed. It's kind of annoying to have so much negative space open, but I don't want to carelessly add art. I've only ever thought of tattooing things that hold significant meaning to me. 

The ideas I have so far are to add in landscape with a waterfall on my upper shoulder. Cascading flowers and a pond to incorporate the existing lotus flowers that I have on my lower back. I've thought about adding nymphs, but I probably wont have the space for the details. 

Thanks for reading. 

Sort:  

Well, I'm not into tattoos coz i didn't like them but to the meanings I just read, I must say this is the first time I'm seeing and hearing such an educative and inspirational post about tattooing. It looks cute on you . I'm thankful for the info @vermillionfox . Very grateful

I'm open to hearing everyone's opinions and I know a lot of people that aren't into the tattoo scene. Thank you for the compliment and for taking the time to comment!

Great piece of art, suits your body well!

I think your tattoos are beautiful! I'm the same with you on that I don't like the negative space but don't want to add more tattoos to just fill that up. I'm not in a hurry to get my whole body tattooed, rather just add things when I really have a great inspiration for it :)

Oh yeah, you get it! I also want each addition to compliment what I already have!

Oh the struggle of trying to make sure everything would fit together :D

Beautiful Tattoos!!!!!

I'm glad you think so! Thank you!

regardless of how beautiful you are, you definitively become more attractive.

You are too kind. Thank you.

Means beautiful. It was an interesting tattoo story for me. @vermillionfox

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60249.61
ETH 2321.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51