Let’s stop here for the day

in #art7 years ago (edited)


I could’ve spent more time with this beauty but I’m a little tired of looking at her. Plus, I’ve got two days to think about a new story image for week #6 of fox tales. I haven’t seen any entries so far so everyone is either busy or they’re working very very hard on their stories!

I’ve been trying to get better with time management since I’ve started working out for my upcoming trip with @lonniedi. We’re going to hiking at some point and I felt the need to prepare my body. It’s not going to be an insanely long distanced hike but I’ve got a bum knee that aches terribly if I don’t strengthen the muscles around it. I leave on the 14th of December so I’ll be sure to take some pictures to share with everyone!

I hope you enjoy these progress shots.

I had her hanging out in my gallery like this for a couple of days. Unsure of the path I would be traveling.

I knew that I was going to add paint brush textures so I did a mix between acrylic and gouache. 

I started with the highlights to add details in with soft strokes.

Then I started to paint in the shadows to create more contrast.

I’ve been itching to play a few rounds of magic with @kommienezuspadt and @tarotbyfergus so I vowed to stop once I got her features to pop. I think she looks alright and she’s got a bit of a glow to her.


Thanks for checking out the art!

Do you have any questions for me? 🦊

Sort:  

I am really liking this one. It has a dark and dreamy feel to it. The details are really coming out in that last image. There is something "shadowy" about this drawing as well, in my mind it is telling the story of a beautiful young adult woman who can dream herself into some kind of shadow dimension. Something like Eleven going into the upside-down but not so scary.

Did you have an idea about this girl when you started drawing her or did she just organically develop?

Cheers,
@kellyjanderson

The last finishing touches are always magical! ✨ I just started drawing her and the colors and mood came together at the end. Really glad to hear that you enjoyed this image!

Ooh, I really like the pops of pastel colors (eyes, mouth, cheeks) against the overall fairly dark scheme. She's so pretty.
Are you going to draw something up for this week's Trial By Comics? I've been working on mine the last 2 days, whenever I get a spare moment. lol

Maybe for the next one! I’m so bad about deadlines and I’ve got to draw up something for my contest soon. Can’t wait till see your finished entry!

Beautiful drawing, too bad this isn't the one for week #6 :)

Hahah, yeah. You guys will never know what you’ll get with me!

I don't know anything about how to do such things. I suppose it takes a talent.

Only practice and patience.

I like your work, I will follow for more.

Thank you. You’ve also got some amazing work. :)

It is a very nice piece!I also enjoy watching the drawing process:D

Thanks! :) I’ll be sure to continue putting progress work in.

Ooh...I love your work! Keep them coming!

Peace @pdxgal

Thanks! I definitely will! :)

Extraordinary, as always. Amazing how you get all the layers to work together like that!

I’m just glad that it worked! I’ll probably sit on this one for a couple of months and then go back and add more textures.

This is a gorgeous drawing. I admire your skill and wish I was able to create like this! Thanks for sharing and hiking sounds fun. I hope your knee is up to it!

Thank you so much. It takes a lot of discipline to create most days. Something that I’m always practicing daily! I’m so excited for my hike. My knee is still sore but I’m gonna ice it and push on!

I can tell by the end result but it takes a lot of discipline... You are doing a spectacular job of it. You sound like my kind of friend because we can't let things hold us back in life. My migraines do pretty much the same to me. I hope eventually your knee will heal.

I have a friend that also suffers from migraines. Doctors are always giving her a hard time with tests since she has narcolepsy too. I’ve had this knee injury for ten years now and I’ve been told that physical therapy will have to be maintained. It’s kinda gross but I can hear my knee ‘pop’ while running. XD

I feel bad for your friend... I have tried multiple medications and none of them work. I want to go see a cranial chiropractor, maybe as soon as today if I can get a ride there. 10 years is a long time to suffer with a bum knee. I kind of have to do the same thing with my sciatica. If I don't keep it stretched I end up having lots of pain. And who wants that? We have lots of living left to do don't we?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63033.54
ETH 2434.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54