Concept art for a gold speckled goddess ✨

in #art7 years ago (edited)

First look at the inner workings of a new character, presented from Adezzo Coffee Shop! 


I've got an image growing in my mind of this goddess lounging peacefully. So many different poses come to mind. I'm not sure if I'm going to do a full or partial form. I only really care about recreating my vison and being able to portray her character well enough for everyone to get the idea at first glance.

Creative inspiration 


I've noticed that when I get excited about a new concept I start off with an expression, mood and rough sketch of the face. I wanted her to have an innocent majestic appearance, heavily lashed with dolly eyes. I started the afternoon looking through some photos and felt inspired by the 60's-70's makeup created by Polish-born fashion designer Barbara Hulanicki. 

I've probably been playing way too much Magic: The Gathering but I'm in love with all the images from the Amonkhet set. One artist that really stands out is illustrator, Chase Stone. He's an illustrator based in New York and has a bachelor's degree in Illustration from FIT. Chase has also created the art for all the Gods from the MTG, Amonkhet set. That's where the idea of incorporating the the golds and making her into a goddess came from. 

The work in progress


I started this sketch using a technical pencil tool. 

Thin slightly straight brows to give her an innocent look. A few layers of pencil to build more contrast in the shape of her lips and eyes. 

Specks of gold ✨ and light colored eyes. 

I wanted to darken the background so that the gold highlights would stand out but instead of doing that I decided to try using the damp brush tool for shading. This way her eyes would be defined but she wouldn't be lost on the page. I love the subtle textures, I'd like to think that this gives the perception of being viewed from a sketch pad. This image was created on the Procreate App on my iPad Pro with Apple Pencil. 

Thanks for checking out these sketches and reading about my ideas for this beauty! 

Sort:  

I wish I could draw! Nice artwork....

Everyone is capable of drawing, you just have to practice! :)

I don't have the card, but lately I have been greatly inspired by Oketra as well!

Oketra is so badass!!

Cool, I love those little digital sketchpad things (I'm sure they have a better name for those than what I just called them). I keep wanting to get one but then remind myself that I barely have enough time to do what I'm doing now. You definitely have some great talent!

Yeah, I usually have to make time and push my way through to complete a drawing or it never gets done. Thanks for the compliment! :)

We can look sexy with 4 eyes

llloovvvveeeeeee thiiissss!!!! <3 <3

I'm working more sketches of this character currently. I'll text you the progress shot! 😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65560.09
ETH 3467.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68