Original Art Photography Series by @velimir #224 'The Mysterious Side'

in #art6 years ago

'The Mysterious Side'



This self-portrait wouldn't be half as Hitchcockian if it wasn't black and white stylization. I used solely tonal treatment to up the contrasting drama to its fullest. Colours would take that away. The shadows already speak for themselves. The man's shadow is placed directly on top of the light background. The areas close to the frame are darkened. Doing this, I was able to accentuate the contrast in the middle of the frame. It also concentrates observer's attention on the most dominant part.

The lamp is very important. Without it, the effect wouldn't be half as interesting. What do lamps usually do? They light the surroundings. But this one doesn't light anything, right? We have exactly the opposite - the shadow of a lamp lights nothing. The shadow of the lamp works well with the mysterious shadow with a strange hand gesture. Then, the stairs going up. The man's shadow is straight on, while the lamp, being away from the lenses, gets way more distorted. None of this was done in the post. The whole magic is at the chosen angle.

Why did I do this? Every person has something mysterious within. This was a way to portray that fact and I was the closest model. There was no special reason for it to be me or not be me. Also, I'd be seriously bored if I was to put my face up against a mirror, clicked it and then start calling it a self-portrait. :D

Enjoy! :)



©2018 Velimir Kovačić All rights reserved.



All images and text published in this post are my original work. I encourage everyone to use own texts, thoughts and images as much as possible. Be yourself and stay yourself. This is a proper way to build steemit.com. I do not have respect for dishonest authors. Also, bloggers actually DO matter!





• For good, inspirational read on various subjects follow: @gavvet
• For crypto news, follow always up-to-date @kingscrown 's blog on the subject.
• I really like to read @vcelier 's life story!
@ezzy writes awesome stories and reviews. :)
• If you want to laugh away enjoy @meesterboom 's posts full of brisk humour and positive attitude!
@thecryptodrive and @reggaemuffin are good guys who run good witness service!
• I suggest a visit to @adsactly society's blog if you feel like reading hi-quality posts about many themes daily provided by ADSactly society members!


Vote @adsactly-witness for your witnesses in the Witness Parliament. ADSactly Society is good people who will represent you well.

I'd like to extend my gratitude to everyone who continuously supports both of my ongoing projects (Motorcycle Travel Series and Art Photography Series). Big thank you for enjoying the content and appreciating my effort. This is what steemit.com is meant to be about.





I am a member of the @buildteam crew, innovative creators of @minnowbooster @steemvoter and @steemsports blockchain projects.
Go Buildteam

The @adsactly society is a meeting point for free thinking individuals who want to cooperate. It is a welcome addition to Steemit.com community. Feel free to ask about it.



Go Adsactly


The @adsactly society Discord channel is here: ADSactly You are welcome to join!

Note to my dear readers, friends and followers: Please understand that I am unable to answer all of your comments because if I was to do that, I'd not have any time left for creating the series and the rest of my extensive Steemit-related work. The amount of comments is overwhelming. It is beautiful to see that my work is appreciated and that it inspires so many people. I read all of your comments before going to sleep. It is my evening routine. Thank you so much for your support!

Sort:  

This image looks like a shadow of a thief or a man in horror movies. Good work.

I agree. To me, the image looks like "Jack the Ripper" (notorious London serial killer) ...all it needs is the shadow of a knife in his hand. Talented photographer.

It looks like the cover of an old mystery novel.

hehehe maybe! now you got me thinking!

That’s really amazing 😉 how you @velimir could use the light in the opposite way to make that shadow reflecting the mysterious aspect of a person. Deep and touching !
59547233-52FC-4CBC-90B3-75AF1480440B.jpeg
@josteem

Well done, for more creativity
I liked your style .. Thanks for the picture
Thanks for sharing

Do not cease to amaze with original photos! Thank you!

Nice post @velimir.
For an unknown reason, i cant view the picture. I have tried refreshing my browser so many times but to no avail. But from your excellent description, one can even grasp more than intended because you have a way of letting our imaginations do the job :), and i think it did the job this time.

But this one doesn't light anything, right? We have exactly the opposite - the shadow of the lamp lights nothing. The shadow of the lamp works well with the mysterious shadow with a strange hand gesture

From your description, i really would return to make sure i view the pic. I would like to see how the above statement turned out, because right now, its all my imagination which i already like :)
When i was little, i was afraid of the dark. Most of us were. And I doubt we ever thought to question this fear. We were almost naturally taught to be afraid of the dark, because the dark is full of unknown things that might hurt us and that mysterious side you are talking about. But what usually happened when you turned the light on? You learned the unknown things were not so scary. And they were not so unknown. They were just part of the environment. I believe that because there was no light from the lamp, that was what revealed the dark side of the lamp.
Our mysterious side can show itself as weakness or strength. Becoming aware of our complete self, however, grants us the opportunity to express strength.
As a result of past experiences, we have decided to negate and hide this mysterious and dark side without exploring it further. And so in return it keeps us from truly expressing ourselves.
In many ways, hiding our shadow can be considered the highest form of betrayal. By concealing this part of us, we are saying we don’t deserve to show our complete selves, thereby betraying ourselves. In return, secrecy, manipulation, and pretending take over large parts of our lives, out of fear of being ‘exposed’ and rejected for the part of ourselves we are hiding.
Thank you for sharing @ velimir. I am sure the readers liked it.


Can you see it here?

Yes i do now. :)
I edited my comments. Thanks. I even achieved more after i decided to used my imaginations. I think one can even get great results from using imaginations. That is the intent of a writer i believe. Where the reader is able to picture what the writer intends to achieve. What do you think.

Hahaha .
@velimir nothing is done without any reason .
But its a real fun .
I can not explain that the pic look soo real to me . at first i think that was of any movies scene .
But read that this your own so i am surprised .
Such a Awsome photography
And the lamp, lamp make your pic more interesting like a horror scene . .
Very well done . very appreciate you for such a amazing photo .
Hope fully you will do your best like this .
Best of luck .

Great work!!

This photo reminded me of an old movie - the exorcist. A dark atmosphere and, of course, a lamp. The lamp plays a major role in creating the atmosphere.
I would pass it as follows. Every person has a light side that everyone sees daily and which is lit by an "internal" lamp. But u have a dark side. The dark side is not visible to anyone. It keeps the most secret secrets. There's no lighting, but only shadows :)
In my opinion, it is the lamp in this photo-graph that tells us about it. Without it, photoraphy would have a different meaning :)
Thank you.

This is your best shot among all your photographs you taken in your long travel till now. This shadow picture i like the most and personally my favorite picture.

Good @velimir

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98