Original Art Photography Series by @velimir #139 'Winter Camo'

in #art6 years ago

The name of this art photograph is: 'Winter Camo'

Back to the minimalistic expression. I'm a big fan, and I especially respect Japanese minimalism. Sometimes, when an opportunity arises, I take the advantage and try to create a photo resembling it. When I saw this worn out traffic crossing in need of a reparation, I thought of a winter camo. No idea where that came from. Maybe from some film, I saw way back when. The human mind works that way, it flashes back something that one would never think of, consciously.

The light falling at a sharp angle does the magic here. It accentuates dark lines on the white areas and concentrates our attention to the middle of the frame. Please, turn your attention to the dark parts and notice their pointillistic structure. It defines them as the white part's counterpart. They are opposed both in structure and in tonality. Strong dynamics is achieved by the means of slanted angle and quite a precise composition keeping the perspective of the white areas as they flow into the distance. The foreign element, a metal plate on the fourth white line is a very welcome element. It is barely visible, at first, but it grounds the image into reality after a longer pervious look.

This is almost a black and white photograph but it only appears so. If you take a longer look, you will see that an additional level of stylization is achieved by light breaths of green and purple, especially in the bottom left quadrant.

Why the white camo? I got an impression that if one would like to hide anything in the forest full of snow this is exactly the manner in which I would suggest to paint it in! :)

Enjoy! :)



©2017 Velimir Kovačić All rights reserved.



All images and text published in this post are my original work. I encourage everyone to use own texts, thoughts and images as much as possible. Be yourself and stay yourself. This is a proper way to build steemit.com. I do not have respect for dishonest authors. Also, bloggers actually DO matter!





• For good, inspirational read on various subjects follow: @gavvet
• For crypto news, follow always up-to-date @kingscrown 's blog on the subject.
• I really like to read @vcelier 's life story!
• If you want to laugh away enjoy @meesterboom 's posts full of brisk humour and positive attitude!
• I suggest a visit to @adsactly society's blog if you feel like reading hi-quality posts!



• Vote @thecryptodrive @reggaemuffin and @adsactly-witness for your witnesses in the Witness Parliament. They are kind people who will represent you well.

I'd like to extend my gratitude to everyone who continuously supports both of my ongoing projects (Motorcycle Travel Series and Art Photography Series). Big thank you for enjoying the content and appreciating my effort. This is what steemit.com is meant to be about.





I am a member of the @buildteam crew, innovative creators of @minnowbooster @steemvoter and @steemsports blockchain projects.
Go Buildteam

The @adsactly society is a meeting point for free thinking individuals who want to cooperate. It is a welcome addition to Steemit.com community. Feel free to ask about it.



Go Adsactly


The @adsactly society Discord channel is here: ADSactly You are welcome to join!

Sort:  

really its Your embedded images at the end of the video are beautiful and evocative. I use the word evocative with a purpose. In my opinion, even great photographs are plentiful in this day and age, whether they are landscapes or portraits or nature shots or whatever. But when they enter the realm of expression beyond conveying the mere subject of the photo, I believe that is were art begins to intersect with photography. And when that expression is so evocative as to produce an emotional response, it is most likely that it was created with emotion as well. Art should speak to us. And it does. But not all of us listen. Your image of the partly submerged fallen tree speaks strongly to me.

Thank you. I don't think I ever read a more profound comment about exactly what I'm doing here. :) You have a seriously deep understanding of this art form, my friend! Thank you very much!

Wow... I have never thought that simple street stripes could have such an interesting perspective... I wish I had this ability to describe my works in such a nice way as you are... great job @velimir.

Thank you very much! :))

I can't wait to see your next post! These descriptions and ideas are hard to come by though we walk past these things often.

You have an eye old friend. Do you currently do some cinematography? Your attention to detail would be appreciated on set. I notice your rewards are doing well also. I hope that is not a shallow thing to hear. But humbly I would be interested in setting myself to reach even a 1/3 of such a daily achievement on posts. Please disregard that if that sounds shallow, but I have noticed you mention some other steemit services so allow me to inquire further.

I am hosting a weekly steemit/bitcoin happy hour here in St Louis. It is informal and geared towards new members who are mostly artists and improvisers. This is our 3rd week. We are meeting at The Improv Shop from 6-7:30 before 8 oclock shows. They continue to grow. And I continue to do my best in explaining steemit and bitcoin. If we are being honest with ourselves, it is not easy for a new member to come on steemit and start seeing any rewards. I am trying to encourage people to work together. But even if we as a live group did so, I still see how a guild such as MinnowSupport or MinnowsBooster or something else is going to help them in the beginning.

I suppose I am wondering if you had just one post that you reccomend I can read, and share with my friends this Friday, that would help explain realistic expectations when joining the platform. Or perhaps one post, maybe one that is yours, that explains the benefits of one of the guilds/groups you are a part of.

Like I said, this will be a weekly thing. So steady as we go. I will leave a link recapping last week and with some info on this week's meetup here in this comment. The purpose is not for a vote but for the information. If you have any loyal followers in the St Louis Area, or perhaps any suggestions of things to discuss, much appreciated. And if time is scarce and you are a busy fellow, i completely understand.

It was nice bumping into you again. I look forward to bumping into your posts more down the road. Be well.

https://steemit.com/life/@jacobts/st-louis-steemit-bitcoin-happy-hour-meetup-2

Oh man... so nice to see that you are back! Let's take some time to chat about all those subjects on the chat rather than here. Cannot wait to see more stuff from your St.Louis meet up! :)

Right on. Sounds good. I can be a bit verbose, LOL.
When you say chat, do you mean steemit.chat?
Also, here is the invite to this week's meetup. https://steemit.com/life/@jacobts/st-louis-steemit-bitcoin-happy-hour-3-invitation
Will be in touch and looking forward to any info that will be helpful to share with the local community. Cheers V!

How do you come up with these unique names man :)

hm...let me think!
They just come :D

Fantastic. I love how back light brings out texture.

I cant press enough how a name for a photo can change how we look at it.
You did a great job with the explanation of this one. :)

Just one question, don't you think the picture itself look quite busy for a minimalistic expression? I agree a lot with the fact that normally unnoticed subjects are worthy of being shot :D I would just not go as far and name these kinds of photo's " minimalistic" I think there are a LOT of details in the unnoticed. Look at all those cracks in the street for instance, for ants they are the equivalent of the grand canyon for us!

hehe I believe it still passes under "minimalistic" in general, but your comment is just as valid. Interesting how art has many ways to look upon it. Thank you! :)

Haha, I think you nailed it right there. Love how perspectives can change so drastically!

I feel like you could have taken the Portland route and called the piece, "The wound is where the light gets through"

I'm glad you didn't. ;3 lol. Great photo.

ahahahahaha :D

You have a very good imagination, yes you're right at first I thought the picture is black and white but after a little while I noticed the green and purple leave their mark on the picture, you have them added with precise degrees that give the impression that it is a real passage of worn traffic with a little rain.

I love your publications because they are very inspiring, I am passionate about photography but very amateur you have some advice for people like me who are starting in this world of photography.?

Do what you love to do.
Never give up, no matter what people say.
Then do more of what you really love to do!
:)

wonderful advice, sorry for not having responded before

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69796.92
ETH 3521.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.70