Drawing Hair with Charcoal - Ultimate Tutorial

in #art6 years ago (edited)

kingx.jpg

Hello everyone welcomes to my blog. Today I have for you what is probably one of the most requested tutorials which are how to draw hair and I've been meaning to do this for a while. I just haven't got around to it, I've managed to throw something together that you should hopefully found useful. For short hair and long hair, the techniques are pretty much the same. I hope you found this useful.

IMG_2357.jpg

First of all, I'm going to roughly sketch out some outlines to give myself an idea of scale but probably end up adjusting it as I go. What I want to do today is focus on the technique of drawing realistic hair. What we need to pay attention to is the method of creating the details textures shadows and highlights and eventually, that will all come together and give us a realistic looking hair appearance.

IMG_2367.jpg

Here I'm just starting from one point of this drawing and usually, I just render it fully as I go. I'm using a Primo charcoal 59-3B pencil. Always sharpen it and making sure I'm creating very fine lines. I think hair can sometimes be confusing because people see it as being these separate strands of hair. Realistically the hair will bend and flow in different directions individual hairs will come together and form larger areas which include shadows and highlights.

IMG_2396.jpg

I think the highlights are one of the most important things naturally hair reflects light and so having that contrast between the light and dark areas will give a better impression. Let me try and break down what it is I'm doing here, instead of drawing individual hairs. I draw around the highlights, filling in the shadows. I'm creating small marks with the pencil and making different pencil shades. I'm also using the eraser to pull some of that highlights. It takes a long time so you have to be patient.

IMG_2399.jpg

Sometimes I make a dark line between two parts and this gives a sense of that separation, as long as this is present then it should always be able to be recognized as hair. One thing that's quite challenging when drawing hair like this is the way that each of the hairs overlaps and when this happens the hairs that come together can appear as one shade. I look at how the hairs travel down and interact with others. It needs to look natural. The parts behind the hair hanging in the foreground are a lot darker and this helps to bring these parts of the hair further forward. This is mainly due to that contrast between the lighter and the darker shades.

IMG_2407.jpg

Sometimes it might help to draw the outlines of the highlights and then you can just fill in the shadows around it. You can then lightly shade in and add more pencil turns to the highlights. I'm making these dark shadows in between parts of the hair, I normally create some rough outlines indicating some lighter parts that I want to leave out. When I start to shade in these areas under shadow I'll make these outlines parts a bit lighter and it will look a lot more realistic.

IMG_2410.jpg

If I'm going to give some general advice when it comes to drawing hair, I'd say focus on the direction you a drawing in relation to the others, this includes looking at how you create a separation between, usually in the shadows alongside the highlights and producing contrasting shades. A lot of these highlights will need some shading so that it naturally flows into the darker areas. Always try to keep the pencil sharp and work with the point of the pencil. Another thing that is how you can make use of an eraser I have an ultra-fine 2.3mm eraser which is useful for accurately creating highlights.

IMG_2434.jpg

This tutorial is all about drawing the hair so I didn't include other parts, like the eyes, nose or mouth. I think I've pretty much covered this process. There we go that's an example of how to draw hair. This isn't the only way. There are artists out there that have many other techniques and alternative methods to draw hair but this is the way that I'd go about drawing it. I hope this is useful for you.

Sort:  

She is pretty! the classic Asian beauty. thank you!

Whoa, shes so pretty indeed!
Skill on painting can be acquired through constant practice but some were just gifted that they can paint as much as this gorgeous lady.

Thank you for your comment! That motivate me to do better! @elizahfhaye

30176300_1798440096883969_1271875126_o.jpg

I tried to use an ordinary pencil :D

Very nice art! 👍

wow wish I could draw like that... please do not stop drawing.. wish I could get you to draw an ex girl friend of mine.. would be cool to give it to her.. as a gift.

Thank you, I will! I was going to do that too but I let the past be.

that's true. Asians are beautiful

Some of them are ahaha

indeed!! amazing hair rendering - it looks so real and what face expression !!

Thank you for the compliment! That means a lot to me!

Thank you very much for your support! Hope you have a great week! @justyy

Stunning! So pretty craftsmanship! The ability of painting is such a brilliant workmanship. What's more, rehearse it generally that makes your work of art culminate. Proceed. Keep it up. Smooth and pleasantly done, your work must be great credit. I additionally attempt at some point pensil drawing.

Me encanto tu dibujo tienes demasiado talento demasiado talento yo tambien dibujo me encantaria que pudieras ver mis dibujos, saludos!

26152903_914349512066718_5298077837356433408_n.jpg

Nice work, hair is very hard to draw

It gets easy as I do it more. Pratice makes perfect 👌

OMG! This is so beautiful

Nice post

Great Post! I love your artwork

Thank you! I appreciate it!

Yeah it is really detailed and nicely explained.
I have no idea of drawing and not even close to arts but after seeing this I can say that I might be able to draw something 100 times less beautiful than this on my 101st attempt :p

I’m sure you can do the same. Nothing is impossible :D

Wow, you have a talent. I would like to be able to draw like this

I’m sure you can draw too. Give it a try :)

Omg !!! That is so realistic . I envy you in every way 😔😔😔
But two thumbs up and upvote from me . 😊😊😊

Thank you very much! Happy to hear that :)

you are really good at drawing

Hi @vaansteam,

I've just saved your drawing as a wallpaper for my pc. The effect of the hair is so f***ing real omg.

Have you considered 'selling' your services? I would surely pay for a portrait of mine.

Have a nice day.
-Ferran

Thank you @fcalabuig I really happy that you saved my drawing as a wallpaper! No I’ver never sold any of my artwork before. It always been a hobby of mine but never a career. You have an awesome day my friend!

I'll follow you to stay up with your future works.

Keep it up bro! :)

https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@chemical.black/charlie-presley

Check it up my friend! We can mix it between your art and mine to shake it up!IMG_20180404_150554.png

She looks like a real person the more I stare at it. Nice mix of the art work! I'm highly mesmerized about this.

@weareonedrair awesome mix for sure!

Thank you sir for your appreciation and support. I appreciate it.

Wow this really cool! I love it! Good job on this!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64278.56
ETH 3504.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54