Drawing Daenerys Targaryen (Khaleesi) - The Mother of Dragons

in #art6 years ago (edited)

IMG_2311.jpg

I want to challenge myself I want to try and draw something that's quite detailed. Right from the start had an idea of how I wanted to go about composing this image and normally I would create some rough thumbnail sketches to give myself a few ideas. I started off by making a really rough preliminary sketch and started to plan out where I wanted everything.

IMG_2267.jpg

It was difficult to draw out such a small scale and create those details but I just carefully work out where to place the marks with the pencil and eventually it all comes together.

IMG_2272.jpg

Perhaps one of the most challenging things with this drawing specifically, was to draw in the eyes correctly. I had to make sure I was using a sharp pencil so that I could be more accurate.

IMG_2275.jpg

I tried to draw in the majority of her surroundings first so that I was confident with the proportions. I'm using a 4b charcoal pencil. I was able to get a range of different pencil shades and turns just by changing the pressure I apply to the paper.

IMG_2279.jpg

Most of the time when you create a portrait, it's the person you have drawn that should be the main subject that means you don't want your background to take away the attention from that subject. You don't want it to overpower the main aspect of the drawing. You should also look at how you have done the drawing. Look at how dark you have shaded in parts of the drawing. Think of the contrast it would have with a certain background.

IMG_2283.jpg

IMG_2285.jpg

IMG_2286.jpg

IMG_2288.jpg

The overall drawing had taken me a long time to finish about eight hours, so quite a while to finish but I really enjoy the process of creating them and doing something different once in a while.

Sort:  

she's so beautiful, beauty, brain and a good leader in GOT.

Yes she have everything, if only she was real ahaha

My favorite is emilia clarke
Great work man I appreciate your talent and efforts

This comment has received a 0.09 % upvote from @speedvoter thanks to: @sanjay20.

This comment has received a 0.29 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @pritam20.

Well done ..
Nice .. Thank you for sharing your day with us
For more creativity .. Thank you for the photos

Thank you for your awesome comment my friend! Wish you the best!

Wow , such a great talent you have 😊😊😊

Hey @vaansteam I love the black and white contrast you used to highlight the body of khaleesi. the design of her that you draw is extraordinary, I know its her but its your percepcion of how you look at her, 100 points for that.

I think also that the detailing that you did with khaleesi you didnt do it with her dragons, why? it was on purpose?, because i would love it see detailing dragons in the draw. in the series we look the beauty of Khaleesi that's true, but we also look at the impact of the dragons in the scene. and that would be interesting to rescue for your drawing. and finally I guess if you dark the background a little bit you could highlight more the shape of khaleesi. but thats and idea, idk what do you think of that, haha.

besides that idk how long you have been drawing, but I know that you are a really good artist. And you have the gift, use it! and keep learning and getting better every day!

@ceheiberg thank you for taking your time to write this. Yes it did on purpose. Cause i want to focus more on her but you’re right the dragon does need more attention. I really appreciate your encouragement. Thank you very much!

Amazing work! You are very talented!!

Thank you so much! Means a lot!

i like to draw too @vaansteam how about an art-off between you and me we both can draw something same and lets see who's better. just for fun

Very nice pick... looks like a modern type illustration of her.

Thank you. Yes kinda modern :)

Initially the pet looks real but when we scroll down we can see the wood work

Thank you for pointing that out :)

Most welcome the picture are excellent

Wow, that's really great work. I'm not really a fan of the show (never saw it,) but the details are incredible. Good work!

You should check it out. It’s pretty good :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64886.88
ETH 3516.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37