Drawing a Girl 4 - Charcoal Tips & Techniques

in #art6 years ago (edited)

IMG_1792.jpg

Hello everyone Vaan here. In today's tutorial, I'm going to be showing you how I drew this girl using charcoal and I'm going to be giving you some tips and advice on the techniques that I use to draw realistically when I draw portraits.

IMG_1705.jpg

I really recommend that before you start doing your shade in, you really do need to have an accurate sketch down first. You can use a grid method, in my case I used a free-hand method but you do need to have a really accurate initial outline first. So that all of your proportions.

IMG_1707.jpg

My top tips were when drawing eyes in charcoal are that you need to focus on the values you need to look at the areas that are the darkest which is usually the pupils and the upper eyelids. And anywhere that's in shadow and you also need to look for the lightest areas so there might be some highlights in the eyes. In the tear ducts and stuff like that and you need to create these darkest shadows and the brightest highlights in order to make the eyes pop and look realistic. Here are some tips for blending out so once you've added your first layer of charcoal I like to blend out using a blending stick to get to a precise area.

IMG_1712.jpg

With the nose, the nostrils tend to be the darkest area and the underneath of the nose because normally if you're looking straight on that's where the shadow is cast so I add with my pencil a layer of the shading to the nose and when I'm blending out larger areas of skin, I like to use tissue instead. I like to use a tissue that doesn't have a pattern on it. It's just really soft and really smooth skin. When I wanted to pull out the highlights and get those lighter areas to add that contrast which makes it pop more. I used the kneaded eraser and I went over it very lightly I didn't really put much pressure on the eraser. I just lightly erased the parts that I wanted to be lighter and then I went and soften it out it in with the rest of the area. On the mouth, the first thing that I'm doing is that in the darkest areas add in all the shading I used a charcoal pencil for the middle of mouth line. Then I went in and blended it. For the hair, I always like getting the darkest areas in first. So I'm just going through and I sketched out the main part of the hair and the direction of the hair. I like to do lines that go in the direction that the hairs going to make it look realistic.

IMG_1714.jpg

Now I am drawing her clothes. In all of the darkest areas, it should be quite easy to do considering the fact that you've got all of your initial sketches already. You should know where all of these parts are so it's just the case of filling them in with the different values and details. I've added all of the details and I go in add more dark shadows and then I used the erase to pull up the highlights.

IMG_1715.jpg

Once I've done that I'm going back in with the pencil to darken up some areas between these highlights and going in with the stump just to add some shading on top of the areas that I need to darken up so that it's more of a variety of shades. When you're doing a face as you do one feature you might notice that you need to change or tweak and have a feature you might need to darken certain areas to be flexible in going back and kind of changing certain areas and darkening things up.

IMG_1790.jpg

The very last thing that I like to do is I just like to look at the overall piece and make some final adjustments. Which areas need to be brightened up and which areas need to be darkened up so that this whole piece kind of looks really great together. I just want to make sure all of the shadows are accurate I need to see whether any of the skin needs to be brightened up. I hope you guys enjoyed it. Thank you, everyone!




Upvote and Comment below for your chance to win some SBD. The winner will be announced in my next post Thank you and good luck!


The winner of my last post is @alfred1

Clipboard01ll.jpg

Sort:  

My account has just been approved and I logged in here the first time exactly today Valentine's Day. My account is still under construction, obviously. I am also an artist and so believe me, this is also my first comment ever posted here in Steem. This piece of work is wonderful. The subject also looked like me. Haha. jk. :) Kudos! Keep up the good work. :) Happy Valentine's Day!

I’m very honored to be the first one person you comment. Welcome to Steemit. I hope to see your art soon. I suggest doing an introduction post to get your account started. I’ll be the first to give you an upvote. Happy Valentine’s Day!

thank you! I am still learning everything here. Right now, I am even trying to upload a pic for my profile. Looked like it's not showing. hahaha.

Wow, Thank you, @vaansteam! Surely, I will give time to sit and compose an introduction about me. so far, it's the most challenging to do, introducing about ourselves. Sure will let you know too when it's done. :) I'm very excited too! I will be posting my artworks here too. Lately, I just got back to photography. :) HAGW!

I can't wait to see your artwork. I am too a photographer. Look like we have the same interest. :)

excellent work!

Thank you for the compliment

if anyone say about real time sketch then he should visit this at least once.... wow.... its awesome.

Thank you for the awesome comment!

Thanks for the tutorial,its really explicit,easy to understand,i'm sure even a lay man will not havr problems in following the steps.

Sweet art I appreciate the ability to draw id love to do that!

You should give it a try

Ahaha I'm very glad

You are really talented! Nice Artwork

Thank you so much!

So simple yet so complex, love it. Bravo! [RESTEEMED]

Thank you for that, I appreciate the support!

So smooth sir... I only make my art for digital as a vector and your art was so amazing! Idol!

You have really nice art as well :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69774.83
ETH 3620.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72