My entry for the character design contest by @w0olf

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemians!
Following my previous post here is the finished illustration for this week's character design contest. the contest is held by @w0olf. this week's challange is to use a pre-defined color scheme and sticking to it when designing the character.

samurai-01.jpg
samurailine.jpg
IMG1.jpg

I don't have the time currently to write about the process, going from last week's sketch to this because I'm exhausted.
I will however broadly deliniate my workflow:
I used the marker sketch as a template, took it to illustrator and painted the inking layer on top of it. when my linework was finished, I created another layer and used the "blob" brush to block out base colors- while reffering to the colors I've been given to work with, and the shapes local value (how light or dark is it, comparing to the other shapes).
I moved the lines layer on top of the others, and set all the color patches opacity mode to "multiply".

I've add gradients to some of the color "blobs".

I the add another layer on top of it, basically the ligh/dark accents layer. There, I've used the "overlay" opcaity mode, which makes it so that if the color is brighter than the color the sits in the layer below it- then it show a bighter tone of that color. otherwise, if it's darker the the result will be a darker shade.
I've made a final layer on top of all the other, for convenience I put all the objects the are small and brighly colord, and have to stand on top of others.
For shadows or any shapes that are contained within other shapes, I duplicate the original shape, then take another shape. while selecting the two togheter, I go to the opacity tab and choose "Make Mask". this will turn the top shape into the mask of the other, allowing me to stick to the shape contours.

I'll try to record the screen next time, since I know it makes much more sense to view it in a video but this time I havn't because I went right into the workflow.

Thank you for your time and attention. I wish you all a great weekend!

Sort:  

Great job and I like the colors they gave as the guidelines. I also like the characters caterpillar like feet.

Thank you

Thank you ☺️

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @uv10 to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Good post! Pass through my blog and enjoy the content, greetings :D

Thank you

This is a great Entry! I see you put a lot of work in it! Love the outcome! :) Please make sure to link your entry in the comments section of the contest post so that other participants can see it! Thanks for participating! :D

Looks great UV10 I hope you win! how long did it take ?

Thank you! More than I'd want to admit, on and off about two days ;)

wow yeah thats a labour of love

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62414.94
ETH 3019.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58