Lacking motivation and keeping a sketchbook

in #art7 years ago

An artist lacking motivation. Sound familiar?

It happens to everyone in all walks of life, you lose motivation, inspiration and drive. Especially if you’re an artist, writer, musician etc.

The lucky ones can carry on without a problem, I’m not so lucky, most of the time I have to be in the mood and in the zone to get going. Not so long ago I would go weeks or months without making a mark on paper and despite wanting to, adult life gets in the way.

So... to counteract this problem, I decided to keep a simple sketchbook, like a diary basically. I couldn’t believe how much this helped to improve my drawing and motivation to draw regularly. I was drawing anything that was near me everyday and it wasn’t taking up any time at all. Why hadn’t I don’t this sooner?! It was really rewarding and I improved a hell of a lot in a just a few weeks!

sketchbook 3.jpg
Broxbourne Train station

norwich line draw.jpg
Norwich Towerblocks

I was used to drawing big so I started off using an A4 sketchbook but this became bulky to carry around with paints, water, pens, brushes etc… so opted for an A5 sketchbook and a small watercolour set which was the perfect size for capturing snapshots of life quickly. Most of the time I will try to draw “on site” as much as possible; public transport on your commute to work, for example, is a great way to test your drawing of people.

sketchbook.jpg
Norwich Centre

sketchbook 5.jpg
My Girlfriend in our flat

sketchbook 6.jpg
At the cafe on my lunch hour

sketchbook 8.jpg
Insomnia sketchbooking

sketchbook 4.jpg
Cafe sketchbooking

Having recently moved house and area, I haven’t been sketching as much as I’d like but I am about to start again and drive myself forward creatively with the help of a trusty little sketchbook!

…. Try a sketchbook. Sketch something, anything, each day.

All the best and good luck!

Peace
Urbanart88

Sort:  

Great post! I totally agree. I've explored so many new techniques since starting my art journaling practice.

great stuff. its important to keep a sketchbook, it helps keep your skills sharp. what type of book do you use and how well does it hold up to watercolor?

I use any sketch book with fairly thick paper but not watercolour paper as it is expensive - currently using an 80g 'The Pink Pig' sketchbook , good thickness for a quick sketch and holds water quite well

Lovely sketches, even though i am an active artist for the past 15 years i never had a sketchbook, its like an artwork itself:) i should make one for my collages, keep up the good work:) upvoted and followed:)

Thank you @georgeboya ! Definitely good to look back through once you've completed one! I'm no expert but it helps! Followed back. Good luck

thanks a lot. its been a month since i did another sketch. i just cant put my mind to it. i will take your trick as a advice....

I know the feeling well. Just got to to anything you can whenever you can really, don't worry about the outcome. Good luck!

Great article! I am an artist and I understand what are you talking about... Thank you for your post!!

Thanks very much! I think everyone can relate to this :) glad you enjoyed it

You got my vote and a resteem :)

Cheers nofear!! will check your page

This was really great. I will definently get a new sketch book :) Thank you for the idé

Thanks! No problem! I will keep an eye out for your work.. keep posting.

Sketch book helped me when I moved from one country to another and lack of space was problem, but I think despite everything sketch books are important for artist. Love illustration of your girlfrend siting in sofa :)

Hi @jungwatercolour thanks for the comment. Getting drawings and ideas down on paper definitely fills a void when travelling around. Thanks again!

Good plan, since i joined Steemit community about 3 weeks ago, i work on some Artwork every day and feel some improvements. Keep doing this.

Everything helps, even if you're not happy with the outcome. I think you can vastly improve if you draw things from real life and on the move! Keep it up and post more

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64657.99
ETH 3153.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59