Illustrating a Childrens book step by step

in #art7 years ago

A couple of Months ago I was commissioned to illustrate a kids book. I've never done this before so wasn't sure to go ahead with it so thought I'd share my experience with the Steemit world..
Here goes! Enjoy.....

First page
The book is all about kids dreams..

I started off with a few preliminary sketches then decided to go for it. I'm using pen and watercolour on paper just smaller that A4 size. I sketched out the main drawing with pencil before going over with pen using a simple line drawing technique.

Dreams 1.jpg

Once the outline was done, I then began to add some paint by starting with the darkest and most focal part of the piece, the window. I used a mixture of dark blue, crimson red and brown to get the deep night sky colour required.

dreams 2.JPG

I then began to fill in the background using a dark blue to represent the night time effect, being careful to keep the paint loose and un-layered.

dreams 3.JPG

I brought some more life t the piece by adding some paint to the cat, the toy and the football to add to the effect that it is a kids roomdreams 4.JPG

Finally I finished the piece off by creating some light coming from the lamp, filling in the colour of the boys face and some more darker paint to the right hand side of the room. I also went over in a 0.6 liner pen to create some more definition to the drawing.

dreams5.JPG

Thanks for looking. Please re-steem comment and upvote if you like!

Page 2 coming soon....

Peace
Sam

Sort:  

i am also a newbie illustrator. how long did it take you to complete this?

About 2 hours..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64686.77
ETH 3158.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57