More of Art Rather than Just Science a Scenery with Oil Pastel

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Konnichi wa guys! I'm here today to present an art work I did this morning before going to work. I kind of got inspired with the trending art posts recently here in Steemit. Man, Steemit sure has a lot of talents hidden in it

I really liked those posts made from oil pastels. I mean, the thumbnail alone is good. I wanted to try it so I borrowed my kids oil pastel for a bit. Hehehe.

I'm not a real pro with oil pastels but I want to share to these wonderful community about the things I know about oil pastel. Now, about the subject, I think most aspiring artists and artists had come across this really interesting subject when they had got interested with oil pastel, well, me too. There is really an indescribable feel with this subject that almost all artists comes across to this subject specially when they're still at that novice level. Anyway what particular subject are we talking about here anyway?

The subject I did is night sky. A subject that uses colors in the ranges dark to warm. For the information of the reader, warm colors are red, orange, pink and other bright orangey or redish colors that you will find in the color wheel. Well, I think this introduction got really long this time, with no further ado, lets get started with How did Bob did it.

How did Bob did it?

First, I started with scraping a lot of black color at the top part of the paper like shown in the picture below.

I rubbed the black pastel with my fingers till it looked like a matte finish.

I did the same thing to the next color, purple, to show a change of color in the atmosphere.

I then added navy blue. Same thing here, rough application then rub with fingers.

You can use a blending stump or a tortillian for blending but I prefer with my fingers because I can give more control with the blending specially in the parts where the colors meet.

It looks neat here, the grain of the paper is completely covered with oil pastel. That ensures you guys that I used an oil pastel and not just crayons, hahaha.

I then added pink yellow and orange to give the impression of sunset or dawn. These colors are the warm colors that I was saying earlier.

Blend them too with what I did earlier. This looks good, the feel of this drawing is so, so sleepy, hahaha, but somehow romantic.

I added more yellow and other colors to make more adjustments with the scenery.
Now we come to this part, this is a technique that can benefit some beginners out there that want to try this out. You see here, I rubbed some white pastel over the rubbed pastels. This white pastel will give some cloudy feel in this illustration.
Just rub it and apply white again and rub till you get the proper or desired consistency for your art work.
Added some stars with same white pastel and added a silhouette of a landscape.
Added some silhouette grass.
And there you have it, a full color pastel illustration made out of love from a French man that loves French fries
So how was it? Did this illustration made you smile?
Hope so...



Everything here is mine, except for the video, just wanted to share it. This is a song that I really love listening to, hope you guys find it good as well, BTW, the band name is Fhana.

Sort:  

Nice job, you have a new follower, you can wacht my art too

Congratulations @unlikely567! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Nice work! thanks for sharing.

well done! @unlikely567 ..keep on drawing 👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56924.47
ETH 3086.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41