# MODELLING_3 : ''Lowpoly Stylized House'' in MAYA

in #art7 years ago

Hello fellow Steemians ! 

I am back with another 3d model i designed. This is a house of unique couple which belongs to an elf and orc.

I wanted to design a house world of warcraft style and think of how would it be if it both elvish and orcish type of house so this was the final result. Other than signs on the banners all the models and textures made by me.

Total count of entire model is about 7694 Tris and 5123 Verts.

I was very happy with the result. Modeled all the pieces in Maya, textures handled in Photoshop and finally rendered in Marmoset Toolbag. I didnt get a chance to learn Arnold renderer yet which what Maya 2018 offers us but i will give it look when i have some time.

Here are some pictures of process

Base mesh in wireframe mode

 I could make the roof one piece but since this is a personal project i wanted to make it look better. Ofcourse this costs a lot of extra tris but still result was satisfying ^_^

Here is the texture which all handpainted on photoshop only the bricks were made in Zbrush and taken in to Photoshop later on!

Final Renders

Hope you guys like it. If you have any questions or suggestion write me on comment section.

Cheeeers !!!!

 *  [TR]  

Merhaba arkadaşlar. World of Warcraft hayranı olarak bu elf ve orc karışımı evi modelledim. Model Maya da Textureler photoshop hazırlandı. Render için Marmoset Toolbagı kullandım. Modelin tamamı toplamda  7694 Tris and 5123 Verts. Umarım hoşunuza girmiştir. Soru ve önerlerinizi duymaktan mutluluk duyarım ^_^



Sort:  

Hi. I like to see some game art on steemit. I hope it's OK if I give you some feedback and criticism. The 3D model itself looks quite good. Nice details, especially the roof top. :) Poly count make sens and all in all most of the Tris are useful set. The banners should have less Tris in my opinion because it's necessary to gave them such a "high" mesh density.

The textures also looks good. I totally like this hand painted style. But I think you can improve it a bit. The different materials and colors should work together. You have a very strong red on the roof top and a cold blueish stone wall and an neutral brown tone for the wood. But I think it would work better if you calibrate all material colors to each other. Here is a quick Photoshop example of what I mean.
5e03ntkl.jpg

Also a bit more color variation between the different stones, wood parts and roof tiles would bring more life to the model. Last but not least... add a little bit more light to the textures. It looks currently a bit to flat. (Another example from Pinterest.)

I've never worked with Marmoset Toolbag so I can't tell whats possible to improve the scene light but an interesting three point lightning with a mix of warm and cold colors or a GI lightning setup would improve it a lot.

But all in all you did a good job. Keep it up.

Thank you. It is really nice to hear some opinions about my work. I am still improving my handpainting actually but yeah my weakest point is rendering. But i will take your advices and apply them in to my new project ^_^. Are you working as a 3d artist ?

I'm curious to see new stuff from you soon. Yes I work as Freelance CG/3D Artist since 2007. On http://www.sixam.de you can see some stuff I've created in this time together with my buddy Martin.

i checked out your works they are pretty amazing, i literally loved your cartoon style models but to be clear are these all your works ? I also work as freelancer with my friend Emre. We are currently working on a truck game project. Ya know boring stuff :D i wish i could get a jobs like i would be able to use zbrush and create characters but for now mostly we design props and maps for mobile games but well someday i would like to work for a pc game company ^_^ . I will share more of my works here and it is really nice to meet with other 3d artist like you.

but to be clear are these all your works?

Of course. What you see is what we did for our clients. Most of the work is completely done by us. I some cases we only did the modeling or texturing/shading. Especially the scenes we did for 'The Book of Unwritten Tales' game series, you'll see on our website, are complete modeled my me and few of them (like the scene with the submarine) are complete made by me. Martin is more the render and shading guy in our team. Especially for realistic looking stuff. A Truck game project sounds not so boring as you may think. We currently working on a Bus Simulator game. Creating Bus 3D models for games is a new challenge for me. And give me some opportunities I had never dreamed of. Last weekend we had a Photo-shooting and Sound-recording for 2 Bus models in Berlin and I was allowed to turn a little round with this one:

That was amazing. I'm not a Car or Bus enthusiast but it was quit interesting.
It's nice to meet you too. Cheers.

Thats great you guys have really awesome stuff. Well i am more in to character modelling and stylized models cuz it gives me a chance to improve my zbrush skills thats why i said truck simulator is kind a boring for me but i am not complaining :). Are you using any scultping software ? and what do you use for texturing other than photoshop ?

Thank you.

Well i am more in to character modelling and stylized models cuz it gives me a chance to improve my zbrush skills

For my personal stuff, me too. But for commercial clients jobs I do what I get. ;) I have some experience with Mudbox and zBrush. I've started last year working with zBrush but didn't found enough time to improve my skills. Beside Photoshop I use MARI. I had a feature film project last year and it was necessary to learn it. Have you guys a website or something?

Thats great. Zbrush is i think the hardest software i come a cross so far :D but i love it. It is just so great and gives you everything you need. I am learning substance painter for texturing i recommend you to give it a look when you have time. Well i didnt get a chance to create my own website yet. But i am going to create one. Really ? a film project that is awesome. Whats the name of the movie i would like to give it a look :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Ubeyd from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67557.12
ETH 3500.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70