"The New Babe" New work for the Crypto Art Challenge inspired by Kay Nielsen

in #art6 years ago

The new babe.jpg

For Round 6 of The Cryto Art Challenge I attempted to incorperate the spirit of one of my favorite artists from "The Golden Age of Illustration" Kay Nielsen into cryptoart featuring the symbol for Cardano.

I have always been inspired by his playful reinterpretation of form and gorgeously inventive compositions.

Kay_Nielsen_-_East_of_the_sun_and_west_of_the_moon_-_the_three_princesses_of_whiteland_-_the_King_went_into_the_Castle_and_at_first_his_Queen_didnt_know_him.jpg

His use of patterns and flowing lines that prioritize fantasy over reality always sent me to a magical place as a child.

Kay_Nielsen_-_East_of_the_sun_and_west_of_the_moon_-_The_lassie_and_her_godmother_-_She_coud_not_help_setting_the_door_a_lttle_ajar.jpg

To be honest my work does not come close, but I am glad I rediscovered him as he inspires me to keep becoming a better artist.

Kay_Nielsen_-_East_of_the_sun_and_west_of_the_moon_-_tell_me_the_way_then_she_said.jpg

I began the piece as a simple watercolor on paper.

kay1.jpg

Usually I draw or paint the symbol of the coin I am representing in; but this time I decided to add the digital file and attmpt to edit my image with blur tools and a mixer brush to better suit the Cardano symbol.

The new babe.jpg

I had fun an learned a lot; thank you so much for this incentive to further myself as an artist.

Sort:  

a good illustration, I enjoy your work, and maybe this is an inspiration to me, thanks for sharing @twirble

Read my profile if you want lots of Upvotes. @a-0-0

Excelent work. I like it very much

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99