Road Through Life

in #art5 years ago (edited)

12.jpg

I have been meditating on a style I used to work in that I once found very healing and rewarding. I made a flickr album with the images, and they almost (not quite) tell a story.-Link

1.jpg

I begin with beginnings- every new eye that opens fills with darkness and light; with colors and shadow.

2.jpg

The faces in the night that frightened me as a child; The demons of the mind that are not to be trifled with.

4.jpg

I move on to the conversations I have with others. The brief illusion of closeness; that I am perhaps not alone. The promise of deep connections of friendship or love that so often present themselves to me and then dissipate .

6.jpg

And then the sadness; the working hard for money; the stress the strain. The wondering when I will feel right.

8.jpg

The emptiness of looking into the chasm of your obsessions for that emotion you once remember happening. That feeling you wish you could have again.

9.jpg

That joy of experiencing music pulsate through your body. Of being young, of being alive, of feeling the energy of others around you percolate into the asymmetric symmetry of dance.

5.jpg

That sense of caring, compassion; of being as close to someone as if you were a limb of their body despite not being either lover or family. Of being a caregiver in an age where caregivers are not valued.

12.jpg

Then there is that tingling; up and down your spine; that realization that there is something more to life.

I am considering returning to this style to perhaps portray a more complete story of life; whether my own or just a general run down of being a human being. These pieces are all oil pastel on paper. There are more images in the link above.

Thank you:)Dania

Sort:  

Your post was upvoted by the @art-venture account after manual review and included in Art-Venture magazine. The upvote and support of Art-venture magazine would greatly appreciated!

Unbenannt-1a.jpg Unbenannt-1aa.jpg

@Art-venture Contest 50 Steem in the Winner Pot :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67333.38
ETH 3247.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65