One Year on STEEMIT!

in #art6 years ago (edited)

DQmefHB56kgbJzxXxte1g2PQBajGvFiVEweXHJq4Qoe8YP3.jpg

@Surfyogi just posted that he had been a year on steemit; then I remembered that I had started on May of Last year. How time flies!

I cannot remember the exact day I began; but here is my very first introduction post here.

I will quote the silly short thing.

"The "Twirble" is a long eyed thin beaked bird character I created when I was 14. I use it as as my moniker and it is an easy word to google if you want to find me. I have been doodling most of my life and now I call myself an artist because I am a resident at the Hive Gallery in DTLA and have sold a few pieces. I grew up in Thomaston Maine, went to college in Western MA where first worked in graphic design, then I started working as a personal care attendant. Ten years later I started working as a CNA at Maine Medical Center, then ten years after that I got rid of everything and moved to LA to be a starving artist. I like stew.

Seriously. I am @daniastrong on Twitter, twirble on tumblr and Instagram , and a weirdo to friends and family. My website is in my profile. Thank you for having me on here...I will post more work if this is the right place for it; still feeling steemit out."

DQmb2LyjRWoL9BHrL6nVNJDT5Kv3x1SgXkUJeTrHhgoTeTr_1680x8400.jpg

I have had a lot of fun on Steemit over the last year. I have joined contests and challenges, made many online artists friends who inspire me and with whom I hope to become real friends with one day and recently joined #artzone as a curator. I have also made lots of art over that time; most of what I have shown at the Hive Gallery; an inspiring and fantastic space in downtown Los Angeles.

Here are some of my favorite pieces from this year.

DQmQUx62gDAeftHuJm72nVR8XV8kymkMQVQK2hXT86nc1Ti.jpg (Won "Art Trail Contest)

flowerfairy.jpg

DQmcXrFUQ9JtjtYTYnUvmLmyTZ63veWxEXH2MH5SKKPdfdM.jpg

unex.jpg
(Contest Submission)

DQmepk2DghYB8gPXH5wv4A9RtsDUMa3tRBgE1SJeigzvZY5.jpg
(My First Crypto Art Piece)

DQmNoCG1U2SvAcshF43yqpYDwkPJWrReofaHvtAyQ8x3QxU.jpg

DQmaWr3bRSmyrUa4PWyGCPpQdWkyYojJ1C9iBmfPKvZc7Qq.jpg

DQmYpaxNy2oLtstFu5ai46vXwBhDQ6vJPPU5wqhj8ZCo8jS.jpg
(Contest Submission for Art Explosion)

DQmb4Png8soaKndNvUgtdL4v5hjAAPtYpbS98V8ePbyeH5o.jpg (Created recently for my last show in a while at the Hive Gallery. I posted about the last opening here I am still a resident but a great artist and curator is taking over my space for a while.

Now I am working on various things; I am drawing a great deal from life for practice.
Puffin3.jpg

Finally; let me give some overwhelming thanks to @curie and other new curators like @artzone for really giving artists like me motivation, appreciation, and yes funds so we have more time and resources to pursue our work. For example; I had more time to paint becasue I had to work a little less at other jobs, more money to buy materials and to pay for my exhibition studio; for which I am overly grateful because of curie and other curators. Just imaging the excellence this is inspiring in other artists? How many more masterworks by @romanie or @libaws can we expect thanks to the kind curators on here?

Sort:  

Congrats! Upvoted to help you on your journey!!

Hello, twirble! Best wishes for a very fulfilling experience here in this very cool community with many nice people :) Enjoy

By the way, there are several groups you as a newcomer can join. They will stay with you for your journey, helping and mentoring along the way.

@greetersguild invite link https://discord.gg/AkzNSKx
@newbieresteemday invite link https://discord.gg/2ZcAxsU

Happy Steemaversary! I joined in August, but only really "got it" at the end of Dec 2017. Super stoked to have found it relatively early!

Joyeux Anniversaire. My favorite picture is the one at the top!

I like your creativity. congrats on one year.
Pun intended, "you really have an eye for art." :)

Really lovely art dear. Just amazing.
I'm a new big fan. I had noticed your posts, but never really dug in to take a look, but you put so much here in 1 place.
Resteemed!

Thank you so much! I have been able to make make so much more art and improve my work thanks to artists and curators like yourself. Just imagine all the great art that will be made by others

Congratulations! What is your favorite medium to work with? It looks to me like acrylics and pastel?

Hard to pick a favorite; I guess the colored pencil/Wax Pastel combination has been creating the best results for me; but I am trying to do more of my collage/acrylic pieces because they seem popular with buyers.

Congrats for your first steemit-anniversary! I like so much your artwork and now I know more about the "twirble" ^_^

Awesome art,,So creative ..Thanks for sharing,,

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64440.63
ETH 2653.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80