LA Artwalk Thursday; Arts District Friday

in #art7 years ago (edited)

angelwings.jpeg

The downtown LA art walk takes place every second Thursday; and it is interesting at the very least. I have not been able to experience it much of late because I spend most of the walk at the Hive Gallery trying to sell my own work. Many say it is the best gallery to visit during the walk however; and for the most part I agree. There are few galleries as fun and crazy as the Hive.

hive.jpeg

I thought I would try to experience a bit of the walk this time by going in early; but alas I got sidetracked. I did get to check the galleries at the "Last Bookstore" however; one of my favorite places in Los Angeles

20160818_151715 (1).jpg

Every gallery there is unique, featuring high quality artists that sell; and they are always there during the artwalk for you to talk to them. I did not notice to many changes since the last time I had been there; I enjoyed this steampunk art however.

20170810_194432.jpg

The entire bookstore is a work of art in itself. Inside an old bank; it is grand and wonderful and full of shapes and forms you would not quite expect.

20170810_193826.jpg

20170810_194107.jpg

20170810_194528.jpg

On the way to the Hive I noticed more people than usual crammed into the sidewalks of artists, musicians and people selling their crafts.

artwalkjam.jpeg

Other places I like to hit up; Clifton's, The Big Easy and the LA Cafe; as well as other galleries near the Hive.

On Friday we randomly decided to go to the Arts District

20170811_195651.jpg

The Arts District surprised me, with interesting stores, galleries, restaurants and bars. As well as this...thing...

tirepoll.jpeg

We went there on Friday; started out at "Artists And Craftsman Supply" an enormous heaven of art supplies. They have one in Maine so I had to check it out and see if it is as good as the one there. Then we went to Pizzanista! (great slices), and the Happy hour next door at Tony's Saloon for budget pints of Dale's IPA.

We also went to the Arts District Co-op; where my brother bought me a hat, walked by an opening at the A+D Agriculture and Design Museum where we snagged some free wine and snacks while viewing some fascinating exhibits, and then shopped at Angel City Brewery to get some beer to take home with us. I had a delicious Avocado Ale; light and went down easy.

Angelcity.jpeg

I have posted about this place before; it is like a romper room for adults full of games art, and REALLY good beer.

angelcity2.jpeg

20170811_195304.jpg

We walked around exploring on the way back to the car; the area is full of high end street art

20170811_190249.jpg

20170811_195741.jpg

20170811_190059.jpg

20170811_190354.jpg

As it got dark we walked by "Urth Cafe" which lit up the night with torches

Urth.jpeg

We also walked by a bar with an arcade I have been wanting to visit, visited the galleries at "ArtShare LA" and walked through this unique bar/restaurant called "Resident' a tiny version of a country mart food court with outdoor tables and a food truck.

resident car.jpeg

fetch.jpeg

Kitchen1.jpeg

We then went back to K Town and watched a movie...good times.
Can't wait to go again:)

20170811_192250.jpg

(All of the photos are mine; some are altered to look like paintings)

Sort:  

This makes me want to visit LA even more. Can't wait to go! On the bucket-list for sure.

I love how you can get on a bus or train and go to a whole other world you have not explored yet in under an hour. Even faster if you Uber.

Nice images. Looks like it would be an amazing place to visit. Always been a fan of places that embrace street art.

Both the Historic Core and the Arts District are interesting in their own way. The Arts District is a recent surprise to me; I did not expect it to have as much as it did; and I have not seen half of it. I though it was just all along Traction Ave with the Piehole and the Sausage place

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25