Artwalk tonight in Los Angeles

in #art6 years ago (edited)

snood3.jpg

I will be working on this as yet untitled colored pencil sketch as well as others in my exhibition studio at the back of the Hive Gallery on Spring Street in DTLA. Check it out if you have a chance.

Not sure what exactly inspired this piece; I just had an urge to return to drawing strange universes in buldings; only this time the denizens of the building are less human than before and the buildings themselves are build on fanciful lines and a genuine disregard for any rules of reality. I just figure if everyone is creating their own realities I can create one in my art at the very least. My world my rules.

Here is an earlier sketch from a coffee shop the other day.

IMG_20180305_161750046.jpg

I tend to layer the pencils until I layer them to much; then pull back and see how I can make the work look finished before I destroy it by working my anxiety into it.

Thank you Steemit:)

Sort:  

Fantastic work!! I live close by that spot. Pretty much across the street from LA Live! Upvoted and resteemed. Maybe I'll try and swing by tonight with Henry.

Thank you! Look forward to seeing you!

Fascinating! I am living in L.A. now. Perhaps I will pay your gallery a visit!

Yay! Introduce yourself if you see "Dania Strong's" space. I am one of 50 or so resident artists there; in front now is a photography show. http://hivegallery.com/

I will see if I am brave enough to venture into downtown by myself. If not, I will find a friend. Looks like an intriguing place to bee. ;)

Usually the Gallery is open Wednesday through Sunday after 1. I am usually not there except opening and art walk but there is always someone at the desk if you have a question or want to buy something.

Parts of DT are shady still but it is much cooler than it used to be.The area near the Hive Is little rough but there are great bars and restaurants.

Thanks for the info.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by twirble from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62922.80
ETH 3437.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50