Thinking Surrealistically

in #art6 years ago

IMG_E4533.JPG

"When Life Squeezes Every Last Drop Out of You"


This painting never really got the full attention it deserved. This was a project studying surrealism, and I admittedly do not enjoy painting with acrylic.
I tend to have much more control and enjoyment using pencil or watercolor as a medium. Acrylic isn't for everyone.
With this piece I knew what I was going for and what message I wanted to convey.
Originally, I painted this piece vertically with the water going to the right, but upon further evaluation, I decided the painting had more fluidity and purpose in a horizontal placement. Here you can see my tendency to use red and blue dominantly in my paintings, which you will see later. After subconsciously choosing red and blue for many different pieces, it was brought to my attention, and now I like to do it as sort of a signature style.
Picasso had his blue period, I'm having my red and blue period.

A towel is being rung out as the water flows upward into the unknown. The hands here represent life with the stress, anxiety, and pressure built from society. A woman is depicted being literally rung out by the hands of life. This is how I often feel. A reflection of my own feelings and experiences are reflected in this piece. Perhaps you can relate and yours are too.


@truthtalks
https://steemit.com/@truthtalks
January 24th, 2018

Sort:  

I have been a fan of your art for awhile now, and you deserve to be
recognized, the talent you show is amazing, @truthtalks YOU inspire me!
I literally cried when I read through your blog today! I am glad you are using this platform to express yourself! Much Love!!!!

I am an artist as well, (female) and I can totally relate! When life gets a hold of you and squeezes the beejeesuz out of you, it's tiring and painful and can easily break a person.

We've got bills to pay, and children to protect, and jobs to show up to, and people to please, just so many expectations to live up to! Women especially seem to be on the receiving end of this struggle, but as we live and breathe; we shall find a way! Lovely painting, I like your definition of surrealism.

Beautiful piece sweetie, I am amazed at your talent, and to think I helped create you. You and your siblings are my masterpieces.

Really impressive :)

This post received a 5.250 SBD (53.17%) upvote from @upvotewhale thanks to @charisma777! For more information, check out my profile!

Wow !!! This is heavy ! I like this picture :)

My signature style colours are definetly red, dark grey and white :)

You can follow me as well if you like to see some digital art. I will post some very soon an i would be happy to have some ppl actually see and maybe appreciate it :)

@red-panther

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64411.29
ETH 3516.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55