VEXEL TUTORIAL (FAN ART)

in #art6 years ago

Hey Steemians! Good day to all of you. Today I'm gonna post a vexel tutorial since my last post on Liza as Darna Fan art is just a quick step by step process on how to do it and that didn't have the full details of the process. But today I'm gonna show you the full details. Remember that this is the way that I prefer when doing a digital art maybe you can start by copying this technique and then develop your own style.

damon.jpg

For this art I'm gonna use Ian Somerhalder. Just a quick background about this artwork. I've been sick lately and I've been staying at home. So I have a lot of spare time and my girlfriend has lured me into her wierd vampire world and made me watch Vampire Diaries and now i'm addicted to Damon Salvatore (Ian) and I can't help myself to watch all of the episodes.

Okay enough with the vampire fantasy. Let's get started.

SETTING UP THE TOOLS

So first, set up your tools. Go to brush tools.

1.jpg

Then click the brush presets.

2.jpg

Go to the shape dynamics then set the minimum diameter to 50%.

3.jpg

Then go to pen tool.

4.jpg

OUTLINES

And now you're ready to trace the shapes of the pictures. First we're gonna do the outline. So after you have traced all of the necessary lines, left click then choose "stroke path".

5.jpg

Then this will pop out just click ok.

5a.jpg

So it will look like this.

5b.jpg

SKIN

So we're gonna use the same process for all the colored layers. So first select the shape for the skin, make sure to close the shape.

6.jpg

Then click the color adjustments(IDK if that is the correct name for it.)

7.jpg

Click "solid colors".

8.jpg

Then choose the color that you prefer.

8a.jpg

So It will look like this. I know it looks funny and somewhat scary right now.

9.jpg

Add some some more layers for the skin. Just remember not to mix the other layers. Add one layer for every color.

10.jpg



11.jpg



12.jpg



13.jpg



14.jpg



15.jpg



So the skin is finish.

16.jpg

LIPS

Next is the lips.

17.jpg



18.jpg



19.jpg



20.jpg

EYES

Next is the left eyes.

21.jpg



22.jpg



23.jpg



24.jpg



25.jpg

Then the right eye.

26.jpg



27.jpg



28.jpg



29.jpg



30.jpg



31.jpg


HAIR

Hair is my favorite part of this. Fist layer is the base color.

32.jpg

Second layer is the highlights. Make sure to follow the direction of the light.

33.jpg

I'm gonna add another lighter color.

34.jpg

Then a redish color on the right side of the hair since there is a redish light coming on that side.

35.jpg

SHIRT

Now the shirt I'm gonna do same process just remember where will be light coming from and where it is going to darker. On this case the light is coming from the left side and it is darker on the right side.
36.jpg



37.jpg



38.jpg



39.jpg


FINISHING DETAILS

I just want to make it simple for the eyebrows so just made one layer for it.

40.jpg

Next is the beard i just colored it black then lower down the opacity.

41.jpg

Finally is the background. I highly suggest to choose the correct background color that will compliment to the color of the subject.

42.jpg

So there you have it. I hope you will get some tips and learn some new techniques on this tutorial and maybe you'll post a similar tutorial to this with a new style of your own. Follow me guys if you want to see more of this in the future.

THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR READING AND SUPPORTING MY POST


received_1700327003321355.gif



trishy.png

Sort:  

such patience and a lot of skill. :D

Wow great process, did you use pen and tablet to draw the details like the eyelashes?

Nope. Just used a mouse for the whole process.

Excellent work @trishy. I really commend you for being able to make something like this. This is hard to do. haha

Thank you!! But with pratice and just a good color combination you can pull it off. 😉

Oh yeah, I wish I had a lot of time. haha, maybe this summer I might give it a shot on art, used to draw but it was still way back in high school. :D

You should @jerome-morales. Good thing there a lot of art tutorials here on #steemit

@trishy nice job! Amazing talent! I don't have any skills regarding with that and I guess that's too hard to learn.

Just be patient and you will learn the skills. You should try and post it here as well. Thank you BTW!



Cool! Bro! Let's collab sometimes.



Sure. I'm looking forward on that. Message me on facebook. 😃

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60482.94
ETH 2613.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63