[Blog] It feels like it takes longer than expected

in #art6 years ago

1fffdc24-09b9-426b-9d0a-a17006754ac1.jpeg


I have been scratching my head around this rig. A lot of work has been put into trying to figure out what I'm really trying to do - burning hours. I have had to rebuild my theory a couple of times - oh the pleasures of personal projects and experiments. But my self-imposed deadline is creeping up on me, very fast. I am now pushing myself to get this going as soon as possible. Atleast I have the majority of the mouth working. It is easy to get demotivated with so many bones - but "chunking" the tasks really help. I chop it up and work in sections, for sure I know the hard work will pay off with a very dynamic character.

Progress

I have resorted to using less cross hatch deformer bones for now. I have figured out how to get good pivoting in the facial influences and jaw, used SplineIK curve hooks to control the mouth shape, created quiet a dynamic mouth drawing system. The mouth is practically working - ready to assign the lattice deformations and get the squash/stretch of the head going. For now the ribs on the mouth pull and squash and stretch quite nicely - with some tuning. What I'm liking about this rig already is the full control I have for creating new shapes and forms in a non-destructive way. I can deform his head, and still keep the main controls working normally. Meaning, I can make a myriad of emotion forms without needing to rebuild the animation library for lipsyncing or general acting.

PS. Oh! I found a fix for Animation layers in Blender, finally. NLA animation now works like it should - nothing will stop us now!

TL:DR

I have the majority of the mouth working. It is easy to get demotivated with so many bones - but "chunking" the tasks helps. I know the hard work will pay off with a very dynamic character.

PS. I found a fix for Animation layers in Blender, finally. NLA animation now works like it should.


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

You're going really well! You'll be able to solve everything or work around all the problems and then show off the awesome rig :D

Thanks buddy. Just.. gotta not stop till it works.

You'll get there :D

Just don't get too bogged down if it's not working as sometimes things don't work coz they don't work! (I'm pretty sure you'll know when you need to change tack, but I never know who I need to remind about this ;D)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65353.52
ETH 2654.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84