You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Portrait of Nancy - Digital Art/ Charcoal Sketch

in #art7 years ago

Wow! you did a good job on this ;-)

The work you did has a very different feel to the photo.

In the photo it is just the model staring at the camera. it doesn't really convey much in the way of emotion.

But for both of your pieces there is a sense of hopelessness, despair, a tinge of fear perhaps.

Well done :-)

I knew you were talented, but not this talented :-)

Sort:  

Thank you so much. I'm so pleased that you liked it. I am honestly a bit scared to post things like this because I am always worried that people may not like it or it may not be good enough.

Don't be scared of what other people might or might not like.

If they don't like it, that's ok. I don't like Brussel sprouts. But that does not stop them from turning up on my plate on occasion. ;-)

If someone posts a comment that is not complimentary or supportive, then their opinion is valueless. They don't have to like it, but if their criticism comes in the form of an attack on you as a person or as an artist then their opinion is not worth the time taken to read it.

What is good enough?

Good enough for what?

Share your work because you want to share it. If you are entering into a competition, then there may be a concept of 'good enough' to win. but if you are saying, 'here is something I spent a bunch of time and effort on' then there is no 'good enough'.

There is just the art that you created.

We could get into the whole discussion on what the purpose of art is, but I'm supposed to be working (although I don't really feel like it right now) so that will have to wait for another day.

I'll keep an eye out for more works of art from you. ;-)

this was a great reply.
I was going to post my own comment to this, but I also have just been saved a couple of paragraphs in it, by your sage advice.
so maybe I'll just glom on to yours.
I have been making art for 40 years and there is only;

  • done, I can't stand to look at this even one more time (this is where I usually end)
  • well, that's as good as that's going to get (not often, but often sell)
  • wow that did almost exactly what I had hoped for it in the end (haha, only happened a couple three times.
  • but there is no good enough.

that's the one thing there never is

I agree 100% you post what you want to share and then get going again.

no rest for the artistically wicked!

Thanks for your supportive words. You're right of course :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59171.28
ETH 2598.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42