How do I make a video game? CHAPTER 2: Making of first 3D models

in #art7 years ago
Hello everyone! First I started creating environment 3D models. It's very good to find some references. I use PureRef to organize my reference images. You can drag-n-drop files from your computer or images directly from browsers.

Because I make a video game on my own I had an idea to make the whole scene in low poly style. I started with trees.

MODELING

For this time I created it in 3ds Max. You can use also this software or many others like Maya, Blender or Zbrush. All is only about your preferences. I started with tree trunk:

Capture.JPG


Subsequently I connected vertexes so it created triangles. For a better "cartoon look" I transferred some vertexes which created very nice hard edges:

Capture.JPG


Next I created a cone which represent tree crown. I also connected vertexes and transferred some vertexes for a better look:

Capture.JPG


After all I cloned this cone 3 times and a 3D low poly model was nearly finished:

Capture.JPG


TEXTURING

When was my 3d model finished I created an UV maps. UV mapping is the 3D modeling process of projecting a 2D image to a 3D model's surface for texture mapping. It's something like breaking a globe to 2D map of the world. I created textures in Substance painter because it allows making PBR textures. PBR (Physically based rendering) is a model in computer graphics that seeks to render graphics in a way that more accurately models the flow of light in the real world.

Sometimes, when there is low requirement to graphic side low you can use for example Photoshop. If you make a video game in Unity you can also use implemented materials with standard shader.

PRESENTATION

For these purposes I make a render of my tree in Marmoset Toolbag. I hope you like it. :)

screenshot000.png

TaDá


PREVIOUS CHAPTER 1: Start


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58956.47
ETH 2517.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48