Peony Sketch - 3rd Weekly Sketch ConteststeemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago (edited)



Peonies are the loveliest lush flowers with dense bulbs and a great subject for sketching. I did this sketch years ago and although it technically isn't much of a masterpiece and the shading is a bit funny, I still like it for its perspective. 

I drew this at a time I wasn't sketching a lot and it was created on a whim. I did attempt to use it for one of my very first repeating surface pattern designs. At the time I don't think I really saw it but the repeat doesn't appear balanced and therefore isn't very pleasing to the eye, but I was happy enough to have managed to create a technical repeat. 



Nevertheless I decided to share both the sketch and the pattern that emerged from it as part of @dcrockete's 3rd Weekly Sketch Contest as where would one be without honing their craft and inevitably making progress.


Sort:  

Great work, thanks for the entry ;)

Wow-they are beautiful :)

That looks beautiful :)

These are beautiful! I also love peonies! Great work

Thanks! Yes, they are such luscious flowers!

I love the pattern... I think what you call unbalanced is, what makes the repeat unique and artful. It seems to be very free and by chance and the spectator needs some time to notice the repeat. I think this is a good qualitity!! and I really like soft pink and mint :-D

Thanks for your truly kind and thoughtful words, that is a much kinder way to look at it :-) Yes, they are by far my favourite colours as well, just add in peach and it's like a pastel heaven, haha!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by tishyaoedit from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65921.21
ETH 2622.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69