Post-Valentine

in #art7 years ago

So, apparently I should give Steemit another shot. Don't expect daily updates. For that (yes, sorry, Peter) I still advise you to come find me on Facebook which is by far my favorite and (for me) most usefull social media thingy. A lot of stuff pro and con can be said about either platforms, but should better be discussed over a cold beer or something, instead of here. OK?

Alright then. Even though Valentine's Day (and please don't give me any crap about that either. Yes it is commercial, but I don't really give a toss) is already behind us, I thought I'd show a piece I made about 10 years ago for the 'Dark Hearts and Broken Vows' group exhibition at Strychnin Gallery in New York City.

aheartentwined.JPG

It slightly confused the gallery because they didn't know how to hang it on the wall. When I told them it wasn't supposed to go on the wall, but placed on a flat surface, they said they probably wouldn't be able to sell it then.

But they did.

The sculpture is bronze and wrought iron, and I've been asked before if I would consider making a few more of these, but never found the time... and I tend to forget a lot of things these days.

So, someone please remind me in November to get started on this, ok?

Sort:  

Tim, you don't have to abandon your followers on Facebook. What I'd suggest and what I do is to post here and just share everywhere else. You'll find almost all of my Steemit posts on my official fb page and on Minds. This way each of my posts has an exposure of thousands of people plus I advertise my presence on this decentralized network. And by the way, 1 SBD (SteemDollar) is today $5.34 (rising), so if you manage to get 5 - 10 SBD for your daily post it's actually a little money...

my thoughts exactly - I also share my Steemit posts on my pages on FB, but I am also sharing some of the best art found here on my Visionary Art Twitter account. On Twitter, most links don't show the image, but Steemit links do, which is perfect for me, because I do not like any of my Twitter posts without a image.
Like this post:
https://twitter.com/visionaryartcom/status/964863815090429959
and on Facebook:
https://www.facebook.com/VisionaryArtGallery/posts/10156078514651241
all it took me here is a couple of clicks to share elsewhere.
I also keep telling people to make Steemit their primary platform and share their stuff elsewhere with just a few clicks.
btw: @gric just made 24 cents for this comment - how much can you get on Facebook for your comments? - other than being censored or even automatically marked as spam if you dare to add a link to your comment in discussion?

fb does not make a lot of sense any more after the muting of fb pages, you have to pay to get even seen. If somebody as an artist is having problems with the thought of monetizing their own content, then steemit is not the right place. Steemit is for people who want to be free and make money from blogging, content and art. But it is also about giving and taking. You have to give to get something back. Steemit makes a lot of fun :)

Your strategy is obviously working well. Checked Minds, as I didn't even know about it so far. If I may ask a word of advice Peter.. what is the better option to sign up? Create a new account or click that "migrate from facebook"?

Hey,I just read your discussion about Steemit and I'm glad you stayed. I like your work a lot and I'm going to follow you. I'm a little tired of Facebook, so I'm excited to explore a new playground here. Of course it takes some time to develop your reputation. In the end it doesn't matter where to waste time, we do it anyway.. :)

Stellar work straight from the fire. Do make more :)

I also encourage you to come by our Steem Artists Discord Channel. There is a pretty sweet community emerging around #steemartists with talent worth supporting methinks.

very strong concept, so true.

Valentine is for specific people, who cares if you have no one... Valentine sometimes itself a racist. :'(

With the latest muting of pages on fb, it does not make a lot of sense any more to post on fb, only a very tiny fraction of followers are seeing the posts and they rarely interact if at all. On steemit there is a monetary incentive and the community is so much more motivated and committed. Steemit makes a lot of fun 😋

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63166.66
ETH 2575.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77