Drawing of the Day #3 - Portrait Month - April Ludgate, Parks and Recreation

in #art7 years ago (edited)

I started my art journey fascinated with drawing people. I caught the bug in primary school when we ran an impromptu playground contest - drawing Henry VIII in his finery.
Years later I worked tirelessly over pencil drawings of my favourite musicians only to struggle once again at university with the newly discovered medium of oil paints.

This is a short and colourful watercolour study of April Ludgate from Parks and Recreation; her stony gaze made for a great relaxed portrait.

Over the last few weeks I've been teaching my painting class step by step self-portraits - tutorials will be up at the end of next week and include guidance for oil and acrylic paints.

Sort:  

I knew who it was before I read it. I think the defining feature is her left eye which you got perfect. Well done! I'm going to promote this. EDIT: I was until I realized I don't have the steem ☹️

Thank you @renodakota, it means a lot to me that you would think to promote my work! You're right, she's a bit off in places, the left eye probably is the most accurate. I kinda like that offsettedness too; my self portrait is going up today, its quite lopsided but maybe that portrays me best :P

I didn't mean to imply that her eye was the only good thing, nor did I want to make you feel criticized! Sorry if it came off that way man.

No way it was a really good point!! I enjoy criticism and didn't think you were pointing out a flaw. Really appreciate the feedback :)

Also thank you again for thinking to promote, put a smile on my face!

This is great. Thank you for sharing!

Thanks @captain-nemo, feedback from the community is invaluable!

Thank you @saffisara, your comments encourage me to post more work!

Ur welcome and thank You for sharing :0) cant wait to se whats next

It's so good! Love the colors and I Love April and of course Parks and Rec. Thanks for sharing.

Thanks @sarahjordan, she's my favourite character - had to put a bit of rainbow in her hair!

Hey I had someone explain the promote vs resteeming. I was able to resteem this just now. Yay for progress!

You're amazing thank you @renodakota ^_^ i will return the favour sometime

you are a wonderful artist, i wish i had half of your talent

Thank you @jhip626, you're very kind. I've spent a longtime with a paintbrush in my hand!

Congratulations @throughwindows! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63597.74
ETH 2476.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53