A MEDITATIVE PRACTICE : for when I can't focus.

in #art7 years ago (edited)

I highly recommend you try this out.

About a year ago I picked up meditation and integrated it into my daily routine.

Before this point I was having some serious struggles staying motivated and focusing.

I developed this meditative practice for the days when I can't seem to control my attention.

You don't need to be spiritual to meditate.

Clearing your mind of pointless thoughts, stress and anxiety is an important practice, for everyone. If you aren't someone who typically sets aside time to do so, this particular practice is an easy way to start.

Preparation:

You'll need a few things ready.

  1. A drawing pad & writing utensil ( In this example I used a Blue ball point pen)
  2. A few select songs that resonate with you. (preferably instrumentals of some sort)
  3. Head phones
  4. A blind fold (If you don't trust yourself to keep your eyes closed.)

AT NO POINT SHOULD YOU LOOK AT WHAT YOU ARE DRAWING. Until of course, your meditation is over.

Lay flat on your back with your arms resting along your sides. Place the paper directly under your dominant writing hand and grasp the pen loosely, tip to the paper. With headphones on, press play on your song selection, ensuring that the will either loop or stop when they have played through.

Take a few minutes to concentrate ONLY on your breathing. With every exhale allow your body to release the tension that it is harboring and slowly fall into a state of deep relaxation. Allow the music playing to act as a background or white noise. (Your Pen should still be tip down on the paper at this point.)

*As your body relaxes bring your attention to the movement of the music. Without tensing your body, let your wrist slowly start to flow along, pushing the pen across the paper.

*Now bring your attention back to your breathing and allow the natural flow of the pen to continue to dance across the paper. You know you are in the right state when the movement feels disconnected from your control. The subconscious is at play while the rest of your mental is subdued.

Continue until you're fully relaxed and refreshed.

Now, ​look at what you created.

untitled-8.jpg

untitled-3.jpg

untitled-2.jpg

untitled.jpg

untitled-5.jpg

whether​ this counts as a real meditative​e practice or not, im not sure. But it definitely​ helps calm down my mind when there are​ a million​ and​ one​ thoughts going around in my head. I hope some of you give​ it a try!

Thank you! @theyoungartsan

Sort:  

Interesting technique, I will try this. I've been meditating for a couple years and new techniques are good. Now following.

Yeah, you'll have to let me know if you like it. It's not something I do consistently, but like I said, for me it's perfect​ on days when I am struggling to have an effective traditional meditation!
Thank you! I'll​ check out your page!

This is the first I've heard of/seen this technique - very intriguing. I'm going to have to give it a go. Thanks for sharing! I'll share it back with you when I give it a go. ☺
(Looking forward to seeing more of your posts, BTW)

Congratulations @theyoungartisan! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I just wanted to check in and see how you are doing, haven't seen you post in a long time and your website is gone. 😔

🌈 I hope all is well with you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65733.39
ETH 3506.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51