You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Fishin With Ma | Digital Painting by AJ Brockman

in #art6 years ago

Being a painter myself I had a sketchy (no pun intended) feeling from day one with the paintings by him. My eyes are well trained I would say and Brockmans pictures always gave away a feeling of PS filters. They are too perfect, too electronic. Either it's his style that he accomplished or an actual filter application. In the video tutorial it also looks like scaling down on an effect rather than painting the actual thing.

But I am open to be wrong. Time will tell I guess.

Sort:  

Hi there. They're calling the photo I found a reference photo. Have you compared the photo and the "digital painting"? Would a reference photo be a precise match in your opinion? I've seen how other artists work, especially on this platform. Usually their reference photos are similar but never identical. I'm seeing a blurry version of the photo I found here. Even the smallest detail seems to be there but blurred. What are you seeing?

I watched the process video, but that doesn't necessarily mean the same process was used in this image here.

Yeah, I have noticed that too that every shadow and light area shape is exactly the same as in the 'reference'.
Like I said his 'paintings' always gave away a photo feeling (which I am convinced they are). Browsing through his gallery on his website, it looks like a photo slide show and some are merely a crop job.

What made me doubt is the sheer influence he has had over the years even to the point where he 'did a painting' for the president and no one pointed out this fakery up until that point. That just creates cognitive dissonance in me as I can hardly believe in a scam up such a scope and magnitude. Would a really 'differently abled' person go to such lengths and sell photos as paintings tying the creation process to a heartfelt story of hard work with one finger? Cause that's what we are ultimately looking at, are we not, if this is true? This reality is hard to process and sad for me. It's that supposed massive lie behind that made me give him the benefit of doubt.

I really don't know what to say at this point. My issue was with this post and this post only. I'll admit, finding that photograph of the river was quite the shock after how this post was originally presented. Noticing the striking similarities had to be brought up and I followed standard procedures. I had no idea this would lead to so many more unanswered questions. I think I'll just leave it at that.

Probably not a bad idea to leave it there. Things will be dealt with...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61744.65
ETH 2678.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59