🌸 ZDENKA

in #art7 years ago

ZDENKA

Zdenka 72 dpi-PS - web.jpg

Be sure to click on the image to view full screen!
use the return arrow in your browser to go back to this blog

Fantasy Portrait - graphite on paper - 21 x 29½ cm - 2017


The portrait of a dear friend of mine - I have not published it on my website , so this is rather exclusive here


below a crop, digitally colored for a possible painting project:

Zdenka 200 dpi-PS hue2-crp-1200web4steem.jpg




Sort:  

beautiful portrait! Zdenka is from Slovakia? :)

Croatia, but she runs a company in Vienna, Austria, moving back and forth between countries.

ah, sure, I asked because it is a comon name in my country too :)

Excellent, with all those details and surreal shapes -- and her expression is great. If I may say so, I prefer the black & white version.

thank you - about the b/w version: this is the original medium in which it was conceived. Coloring was in Photoshop with overlays. If I paint it, it will be different, not a colored copy of the drawing. There will be a painting: I received a commission for it already.

That's good to know, grats on the commission. It would be interesting to see how the painting comes out, and what you'll do differently.

every medium has its own strengths. There are techniques in painting that can't be repeated in drawing, and vice versa. Same can be said about printmaking. The color overlay in digital was just to set a color scheme for the painting to come. Also, when I paint (or draw), the process is a trip into discovery: I never know from the outset where it will lead. If I did, I would be bored. If I recreated the drawing, I would be bored. And if I am bored, then what I do would be less than mediocre.

Deine Sachen sind gewaltig Otto. Muss immer wieder staunen!

Very useful post thanks for sharing with us

thank you very much - happy to share 😃

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63126.26
ETH 2596.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76