🎨 SHEPHERD OF THE SPHINX

in #art7 years ago (edited)

SHEPHERD OF THE SPHINX


This drawing from decades ago is in a private collection in Vienna. Not until recently, when I was able to borrow it for a scan, did I have a decent image of it. So here it is, scanned by Digital Laut in Vienna:

Shepherd-web.jpg

SHEPHERD OF THE SPHINX - graphite drawing on paper, 1983

▲ Click on the image to view full screen! use the return arrow in your browser to go back to this blog


I am currently updating my website with a new template, you find Shepherd of the Sphinx with additional features and links to where prints are available.
Should you be a resident of Vienna, then contact me for a full size signed print (printed at Digital Laut) and personal delivery 🚐


Sort:  

Excellent, a reminder of old Egypt's magical essence. I think that at a subconscious level, the connection of Egypt to occult and magic and some kind of lost knowledge is deep within us. You see a Sphinx or a Pyramid and so many concepts surface in your mind. You managed to put many of those in your picture, the Dagger, the Sphinx, the Cat, the Water flowing through the Gate, the Staff -- so many Tarot symbols.

Or, it might be just a surreal place with surreal figures! :)

thank you very much: the inspiration came indeed from many channels, and some background details came from a painting, a early period work by my good friend De Es Schwertberger. At that time I was also influenced by Ernst Fuchs and De Es was once his assistant.

I see the influence of De Es (period 1). For me, it reminds me of two Rider-Waite Tarot cards, the Strength and, mostly, the Chariot. In fact, I think that most elements of the Chariot card can be found in your painting, rearranged and remade in a surreal manner: the Buildings, the Water, the Sphinx, the Master & Staff, . It's great!

This is straight fire. I love the world you created and the sense of space. A+

thank you very much!

You are very welcome. The more I look at this I am really drawn to the luminance on his head piece

this is most beautiful mythology

upvoted and resteem to kindly if you don't mind check my blog also

thanks - I have a look

cool - hope you have a good spade 😏

I love it!
I love Sphinxes... I wonder what that dude's deal is!

I let my imagination run away on this one, but the figure of the shepherd I sketched out a few times, whole figure, details etc - those sketches are lost now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63313.88
ETH 2629.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76